Author Topic: paint kit  (Read 2667 times)

teisco

paint kit
« on: March 02, 2020, 05:46:15 pm »
I see there is a paint kit for customizing GSX vehicles ,,, I did not find a download for this at the site.

Captain Kevin

• Beta tester
  • Captain Kevin
    • Captain Kevin
Re: paint kit
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2020, 05:53:36 pm »
Are you running FSX or P3D V4. The paint kit was only for the older GSX vehicles, as far as I can remember, so it isn't available for the new GSX vehicles in P3D V4.
Captain Kevin

teisco

« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2020, 06:58:06 pm »
Ok then,,where can I find current textures for vehicles and crew? I know I can custom them via the way described in manual but as a working texture artist I want to get to the raw dds files.

virtuali

• Administrator
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2020, 01:16:26 pm »
I don't know what do you mean with "raw .DDS files".

A .DDS file is the farthest think from a "raw" file, assuming with "raw" you mean the term generally used in digital photography, where raw is the highest quality file you can get from the camera, which you can then edit and convert to a compressed format to share it, like .JPG. In this regard, with .DDS being a lossy compression format, it's more similar to a .JPG in digital photography, that is the opposite of "raw".

In case of the GSX vehicle customization, what you can do with the included tools, is to choose between a set of different "base" colors, and add a custom logo you can create. This is very easy, as long as you create the logo following the specs, which usually means a .PNG file (eventually with an Alpha channel ) with an aspect ratio of 4:1, so for example 512x128 is a good choice for a logo.