FSDreamTeam forum
October 22, 2020, 08:39:42 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: KORD V2 in Prepar3D V5  (Read 4396 times)
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39843



WWW
« on: April 08, 2020, 04:13:13 PM »

I've just made a very quick test, showing a bit of the performance increase you can expect from P3D V5, at FSDT KORD V2. I tried to maintain all settings as close as possible, and since this is still a Beta version of P3D V5, it's possible things might change a bit before release, due to further optimizations in the final version.

The hardware is:

- CPU i7-6700, stock clock.
- RAM 64 GB.
- GPU nVidia 2080 Ti.

Yes, the system is a bit unbalanced, but it's a typical developer system: lots of ram to open several 3d apps at the same time, no overclock ( has to run the whole day ). I would expect better results with a better CPU, considering DX12 can multithread better than DX11.

Also, note the video capture software has a cost on its own, in reality, P3D V5 feels much smoother, although I think it still can be seen in the video, V4 it's less smooth, even without taking into account the fps.

Here's Prepar3D V4:
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L1gjWt4NOZM" target="_blank">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L1gjWt4NOZM</a>

Here's Prepar3D V5:
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ottayUIuJZg" target="_blank">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ottayUIuJZg</a>
« Last Edit: April 08, 2020, 04:15:49 PM by virtuali » Logged

micstatic
Newbie
*
Posts: 46


« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2020, 04:53:13 PM »

nice.  thanks for posting this
Logged
MWerthers747
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2020, 06:42:59 PM »

I hope we don't have flashing triangles like in v4.5
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39843



WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2020, 11:12:20 PM »

I hope we don't have flashing triangles like in v4.5

There weren't any flashing triangles in V4.5.

If they were ( I was never able to see them, other than on some users video ), they surely weren't caused by KORD, but by settings, tweaks, either in the sim or the video drivers, or other add-ons, like shader tweaks, or simply settings too high, and weren't obviously related in any way to KORD.

Since V5 uses a completely different rendering engine ( I can't see them in either sim ), and it might be some time before shader mods, tweaks, and other stuff might start to appear, we can only hope users that were affected by them on 4.5, will finally realize it wasn't a KORD problem after all.
Logged

tangjuice81
Newbie
*
Posts: 30


« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2020, 03:04:37 PM »

I approve! Really great job getting this into v5.
Logged
maca11
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 51


« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2020, 10:06:26 AM »

Hi, I have the same FPS in V5 like in V4.5
same setting of both p3d application.
I wished I would have at least few FPS better. Any tweak I can do ? Any extra settings in KORDv2 ?
many thanks
JM
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39843



WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2020, 10:46:34 AM »

You don't say anything about your system, especially your video card and your CPU. And no, unless you disabled TrueSky ( Enhanced Atmospheric ), you don't really have the same settings, a fair comparison would be with TrueSky disabled.
Logged

maca11
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 51


« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2020, 12:05:38 PM »

OK, thanks. Will try with Truesky disabling.
I have i7-6850K (32GB RAM) and Nvidia 1080Ti

KORD was before in my v4.5 around 22-27 FPS
now with V5 it is the same..

Many thanks !
JM
Logged
maca11
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 51


« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2020, 03:07:21 PM »

with our without Truesky the FPS are the same for v5 and v4.5 in KORDv2.
Any idea where It can be slowed down (considering FPS of V5 should be generally higher) ?
many thanks !
JM
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39843



WWW
« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2020, 03:20:38 PM »

with our without Truesky the FPS are the same for v5 and v4.5 in KORDv2.

Have you locked the fps maybe ?
Logged

maca11
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 51


« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2020, 08:23:37 PM »

locked on 30fps, but I cannot reach that.
Same set-up as v4.5..-(
many thanks
JM
Logged
paulyg123
Newbie
*
Posts: 30


« Reply #11 on: April 18, 2020, 08:56:41 PM »

I installed all my FSDT ariports into V5, I notice that now on KORD V4.5, the runway textures are completely missing.  What do you supposed happened?
Logged
dingerbell
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #12 on: April 18, 2020, 11:49:25 PM »

I am still on v4.5 ... been away from the sim for a week so ran the update & my RWY Textures have dissappeared?
Logged

Stephen Bell
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39843



WWW
« Reply #13 on: April 20, 2020, 12:59:15 PM »

I am still on v4.5 ... been away from the sim for a week so ran the update & my RWY Textures have dissappeared?

You must download and install the latest installer anyway, because it must update the add-on.xml for V4 as well, to separate the ground polygons made using the V4 SDK from the ones made using the V5 SDK.

If you want to save some time, you can modify the add-on.xml file for KORD V2 as indicated in the attached file.

IMPORTANT The attached add-on.xml file it's just an EXAMPLE, based on the assumption you installed KORD V2 in the default folder C:\Program Files (x86)\Addon Manager. If you used this folder, it's all fine, you can use the file as it is but, if you installed all FSDT products in another folder, you must change all the lines reading C:\Program Files (x86)\Addon Manager in the sample with your actual location.

* add-on.xml (1.16 KB - downloaded 58 times.)
Logged

dingerbell
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #14 on: April 24, 2020, 11:53:01 AM »

Thanks for the attachment Umberto ... the Additional Compatibility Layer syntax was missing from my file.

All is now fixed & more beautiful than ever.

Best

Steve
Logged

Stephen Bell
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!