FSDreamTeam forum
May 07, 2021, 09:23:59 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: KIAH Ground Textures  (Read 2484 times)
stro19
Newbie
*
Posts: 47



« on: January 19, 2020, 05:38:58 PM »

I saw the post with the canyons and ORBX AEC is disable from KIAH. I scanned KIAH and the only scenery that appears is FSDT. The mesh is set to 5 but I'm getting raised taxi ways.


* 2020-1-2_18-26-42-164.jpg (707.23 KB, 2560x1440 - viewed 288 times.)

* 2020-1-2_18-26-27-301.jpg (544.29 KB, 2560x1440 - viewed 225 times.)

* 2019-12-30_20-17-21-153.jpg (419.38 KB, 2560x1440 - viewed 217 times.)
Logged

SaintJoe
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 41003



WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2020, 01:39:19 PM »

Your problem are caused by having set your Mesh resolution slider too high. The KIAH manual, at Page 10, indicates the suggested settings, which are 100% Mesh Complexity and 5mt/pixel Mesh Resolution.
Logged

Kevin_28
Newbie
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2020, 07:03:49 AM »

Your problem are caused by having set your Mesh resolution slider too high. The KIAH manual, at Page 10, indicates the suggested settings, which are 100% Mesh Complexity and 5mt/pixel Mesh Resolution.


Hi Virtuali!

I picked up KIAH this past weekend and I'm having the same issue as the user above. See attached photo. I've tried 5m, even 1m, for mesh resolution and it still showed those issues at various bridges. I don't see mesh complexity but I pretty much max'd out the terrain section and I'm still seeing it. Any guidance you can provide would be much appreciated

As a side note, it's not really a big deal. I can still drive over it without issues. Other than those visual issues at those bridges, it's a fantastic scenery. Many thanks.


* KIAH.png (3121.06 KB, 1901x1061 - viewed 257 times.)
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 41003



WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2020, 12:53:20 AM »

I picked up KIAH this past weekend and I'm having the same issue as the user above.

Your problem doesn't have anything to do with the one posted by the first user and doesn't have anything to do with mesh settings.

The problem in the first post was those two terrain "spikes" which looked like boulders on the taxiways. This and only this is related to Mesh settings, which must be 5 meters and NOT higher. Your problem, instead, is totally different, and it's a visual artifact caused by the fact FSX/P3D is not really a complete 3D graphic engine that allows thing like tunnels so, on some viewing angles, you'll get these problems.

But at least, the taxiway works and works with AI too, because trying to fix the visual issue, would then cause other problems with AI.

Logged

cowings1588
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 333



« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2020, 10:44:24 AM »

One of the reasons, I'm so looking forward to a new Houston KIAH redo completely P3D only getting away from that old FSX built. Although it was good in its time and served its purpose. Time to move on from FSX days and leave them in the dust along with leaving in the dust that whole era of 32 bit code where we all feared that OOM error of death as far as that 32 bit code.. Leave all that in the past. Move forward.. New Houston for New P3D platform. Leaving FSX in the dust. Like I said its served it dilligence back then, enjoyed but its time to move on.. So Whenever FSDT is ready so am I and others to move to a new P3D4.5- now P3D5 KIAH and other current newer scenery by you guys in just the P3D platform only !! Hopefully that way riding of those old haunts from FSX days. 
Logged

COA
Bill
finchkh
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2021, 02:40:01 PM »

Your problem are caused by having set your Mesh resolution slider too high. The KIAH manual, at Page 10, indicates the suggested settings, which are 100% Mesh Complexity and 5mt/pixel Mesh Resolution.

UPDATE: This is an old, unmonitored thread so there was no response from FSDT. However, I can tell you the issue of the "rocks" on the taxiway disappeared after I reset the mesh resolution from 1m to 5m. No other settings changes were made.

In P3D v4.5, I see the setting for mesh resolution - I'm backing mine down from 1m to 5m, hoping this doesn't negatively affect someone else's scenery... - but I don't see Mesh Complexity. Do you mean Scenery Complexity under World/Graphics/Scenery Objects? If so, should the setting be Very Sparse, Sparse, Normal, Dense, Very Dense, or Extremely Dense? (Currently, normal; no % indicators on this slider).

Any ETA for a native P3D KIAH (like KORD)?

Thanks.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2021, 02:51:51 PM by finchkh » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!