Author Topic: Prepar3D 4 announced: FSDT is ready!  (Read 43878 times)

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 41582
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: Prepar3D 4 announced: FSDT is ready!
« Reply #45 on: June 20, 2017, 09:21:15 am »
1. The scenery was not added to the scenery.cfg file and I had to do it manually via the latest SceneryConfigEditor v1.1.9

The scenery should NOT be added to the scenery.cfg !!! Please read the forum, this has been discussed so many times, and it's NOT a problem, is the proper and officially suggested way to install a scenery into P3D.

Now you probably have double areas.

Quote
2. To my horror the FPS dropped to 3-5 FPS at night and back to 45-50 during daytime of which I expect it has to do with the Dynamic Light system in P3D4

The scenery doesn't have anything to do with this, but the screen resolution and antialiasing modes are. See this post, with a test of how much dynamic lights affects fps on different FSDT sceneries, made in different times using different methods:

http://www.fsdreamteam.com/forum/index.php/topic,16007.msg114745.html#msg114745

Quote
Except if I'm doing something terribly wrong somewhere 

You surely must Undo your mistake of adding the scenery to the scenery.cfg.


Terblanche

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Prepar3D 4 announced: FSDT is ready!
« Reply #46 on: June 20, 2017, 03:30:02 pm »

Thank you Umberto ...
I've read a lot of post on the new add-on.xml system in P3D4 and it will take time to fully understand and to make use of it simply because some scenery still install to scenery.cfg file and yours to the new ***documents\Prepar3D v4 Add-ons folder. BUT I've deleted the FSDT scenery from scenery.cfg and it works fine and even the FPS drop seemed fixed.

There is a 50% sale advertised on your HOME page and I'm trying to buy KCLT and KDFW but don't know where to insert the KCLT64BIT code because in coupons it says, 'invalid' ... or did the SALE expire? Or maybe I got this also wrong  :'(

Really difficult sometimes when English is your fourth language  :o
Terblanche Jordaan
From: Cape Town (FACT)

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 41582
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: Prepar3D 4 announced: FSDT is ready!
« Reply #47 on: June 21, 2017, 12:09:27 pm »
BUT I've deleted the FSDT scenery from scenery.cfg and it works fine and even the FPS drop seemed fixed.

Of course it is. It would have been enough to not touch anything, and just trust the installer...


Quote
or did the SALE expire? Or maybe I got this also wrong

It ended June 11th:

http://www.fsdreamteam.com/forum/index.php/topic,15613.0.html

LuisKMIA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Prepar3D 4 announced: FSDT is ready!
« Reply #48 on: July 22, 2017, 12:42:52 am »
I have successfully installed all my FSDT products to P3Dv4, except for FLL. I get this error (see picture).

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Luis

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 41582
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: Prepar3D 4 announced: FSDT is ready!
« Reply #49 on: July 24, 2017, 11:28:01 am »
I have successfully installed all my FSDT products to P3Dv4, except for FLL. I get this error (see picture).

It seems you are running the installer when the sim was still running, or you launched it too quickly after the sim closed, not allowing enough time to release all opened files.

Try after a Windows restart.

LuisKMIA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Prepar3D 4 announced: FSDT is ready!
« Reply #50 on: July 30, 2017, 05:56:34 pm »
OK.  Will let you know if it works.

LuisKMIA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Prepar3D 4 announced: FSDT is ready!
« Reply #51 on: July 30, 2017, 06:12:09 pm »
OK.  Will let you know if it works.
No luck after a full restart.  Still gets stuck in the same exact instance.

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 41582
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: Prepar3D 4 announced: FSDT is ready!
« Reply #52 on: July 31, 2017, 01:06:35 pm »
No luck after a full restart.  Still gets stuck in the same exact instance.

This error can only be caused by one of these two reasons:

- You started the installer too quickly after closing a previous FSX session, without giving a chance for all the files and processes started by it to close down properly.

OR

- An external program, like an antivirus, is denying you access to the install folder. Many users are now aware they run multiple security-related software, so they must be all disabled and configured to exclude the sim folder from scanning.

First, try to reinstall after restarting Windows.

If that doesn't fix it,  even if you are SURE the antivirus it's not running now and you are SURE FSX is not running, it might still have caused a mess in your file permissions, denying you from accessing a folder, while the antivirus was still active.

Yes, it seems strange, but I witnessed this first-hand on an user system during a remote assistance session. There are some free utilities you can try to unlock that folder:

http://www.iobit.com/en/iobit-unlocker.php
http://www.freefileunlocker.com/

And tell to the utility to unlock the Addon Manager\fsdreamteam\KFLL folder, then REMOVE IT manually, and then REINSTALL the scenery.

cirurgiao

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: Prepar3D 4 announced: FSDT is ready!
« Reply #53 on: March 26, 2018, 04:45:30 pm »
Just a question:
I have GSX for FSX and just now bought Prepar3D4 which is a 64bit applications, so much better.
Will there be any problem installing the last version of addon manager / gsx_fsx_setup to work with Prepar3D4 while keeping GSX's version for FSX installed or shall I uninstall all?
Tks and sorry if this answer was somewhere else;
Eduardo Passos
Win10 64bit/P3Dv4.5/I10940X@4.2/GeForce RTX2080TI/128GB Corsair DDR

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 41582
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: Prepar3D 4 announced: FSDT is ready!
« Reply #54 on: March 27, 2018, 10:18:40 pm »
Will there be any problem installing the last version of addon manager / gsx_fsx_setup to work with Prepar3D4 while keeping GSX's version for FSX installed or shall I uninstall all?

I suggest doing this:

- Uninstall everything from FSDT

- Download the updated installers for every FSDT product

- Install them all. This will result in a shared folder under C:\Program Files\Addon Manager (or any other folder you might want to choose), which will hold all our products, in all installed simulators, without wasting any space due to duplicate files.

cirurgiao

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: Prepar3D 4 announced: FSDT is ready!
« Reply #55 on: March 28, 2018, 11:04:01 am »
Tks for answering so soon
I have a 1TB SSD were my FSX and Prepar3D4 are installed. Can I create a F:/FSDT folder and install there my Addon Manager & GFX?
From your answer my GSX will be installed in both simulators too (sorry if this seems a dumb question)
Eduardo Passos
Win10 64bit/P3Dv4.5/I10940X@4.2/GeForce RTX2080TI/128GB Corsair DDR

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 41582
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: Prepar3D 4 announced: FSDT is ready!
« Reply #56 on: March 29, 2018, 12:04:11 pm »
an I create a F:/FSDT folder and install there my Addon Manager & GFX?From your answer my GSX will be installed in both simulators too (sorry if this seems a dumb question)

Sure, and both simulators will see it from there, with no wasted space.

cirurgiao

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: Prepar3D 4 announced: FSDT is ready!
« Reply #57 on: March 29, 2018, 08:45:31 pm »
Really this is my last question:
Can I install just the Stand Alone ADDON MANAGER or this plus GSX?
My sincere apoplogies if this seen dumb too.
And many many thanks
Eduardo Passos
Win10 64bit/P3Dv4.5/I10940X@4.2/GeForce RTX2080TI/128GB Corsair DDR

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 41582
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: Prepar3D 4 announced: FSDT is ready!
« Reply #58 on: March 29, 2018, 10:56:05 pm »
I'll repeat it again:

- Uninstall everything from FSDT

- Download the updated installers for every FSDT product

- Install them all. This will result in a shared folder under C:\Program Files\Addon Manager (or any other folder you might want to choose), which will hold all our products, in all installed simulators, without wasting any space due to duplicate files.

No need to reinstall the Addon Manager, since each and every product installer comes with it.

cirurgiao

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: Prepar3D 4 announced: FSDT is ready!
« Reply #59 on: March 30, 2018, 11:20:37 am »
It seems ok. Will check it and eventually will give another feedback.
Tks again

PS: I modified this post just now because there was an error message but I think I got it right
« Last Edit: March 30, 2018, 12:28:35 pm by cirurgiao »
Eduardo Passos
Win10 64bit/P3Dv4.5/I10940X@4.2/GeForce RTX2080TI/128GB Corsair DDR