Author Topic: AI Carriers.NET and P3D ... Windows 10 removes DirectX 9  (Read 8576 times)

Tregarth

AI Carriers.NET and P3D ... Windows 10 removes DirectX 9
« on: November 23, 2015, 12:18:53 pm »
I have very recently moved my Win 7 PC to Win 10. During the install I decided to save nothing so I could remove all the rubbish from my HD and start again.

When I started to install FSX I only saw a black install screen, when I came to run FSX I saw a black screen and a message saying FSX needs DirectX 9.  I have checked DxDiag and see I now have Dx 11.2.  I have downloaded Dx9 from MS but when I try to install it I am told it will only work with Windows XP to 8.1  I didn't think this would work, Windows only moves in 1 direction.  I saw a message about Error logs - see attached.

Thus I cannot run FSX.

I am thinking of going to P3D (I am a student) but would like to know if anyone is running AICarriers2 either the original (Java) or .NET versions?

Otherwise I will have to roll back to using Win 7

Any suggestions would be appreciated,

Thank you,

Tregarth
« Last Edit: November 23, 2015, 12:20:51 pm by Tregarth »

SpazSinbad

• RAN FAA: https://www.faaaa.asn.au/spazsinbad-a4g/
    • A4G Skyhawk & Fixed Wing history scrapbook PDFs & videos RAN FAA + How to Deck Land Various Aircraft
Re: AI Carriers.NET and P3D ... Windows 10 removes DirectX 9
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2015, 02:03:56 pm »
I do not have Windows 10 to verify the info in this video. Please go there to get the URLs for more advice below the text excerpted here below.

Windows 10 - Flight Simulator X Runs Great Without Mods
"Published on Oct 2, 2014 Old Guy Geek

Here's FSX running on Windows 10. It's not crippled, and it doesn't crash. And no other third party software 'patches' needed. You don't even need to use the Compatibility function.