FSDreamTeam forum
September 02, 2014, 07:43:54 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: KIAH has been released!
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
  Print  
Author Topic: AFCAD discussions  (Read 18374 times)
harpsi
Beta tester
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 416


« Reply #15 on: September 24, 2008, 07:35:41 PM »

Harpsi,
     I am a little confused.  The AFCAD file you posted will open ALL runways for use at the same time?  Or is this the AFCAD that wil allow the combo use of 13s/22s and 31s/4s?  The combo I mention here is highly realistic in terms of what JFK usually does and so I am wondering where this AFCAD might be?  Your previous post seems to state that you will find time to do the second combo which (as you state) is not usually the case (I agree) but I am not following you on the first combo file?

There is no confusion. THat´s exactly what you said.  Grin Grin Grin

harpsi
Logged
mave128
Full Member
***
Posts: 101


« Reply #16 on: September 27, 2008, 04:51:37 PM »

hey harpsi,

thank you alot for your afcad file, it works pretty good.
i just had to close 04L for landing, because 04R is more often used for landing in reality.
the line up at 04L was a bit too long, in my opinion.

ok but nevertheless i have a question concerning the parking positions.
as you can see at the pictures, most of the wide bodys are standing in or nearby the red circle, but most of the gates are unused.
even the a380 (not to be seen on the picture) is parking at position 68 or so...

i have seen that you assigned the gates already, so thats because i´m asking.
what must have been done to get this into an orderly fashion?

thanks alot for answering,
and best regards.
sören


[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: September 27, 2008, 04:53:46 PM by mave128 » Logged

best wishes,
sören
harpsi
Beta tester
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 416


« Reply #17 on: September 27, 2008, 06:36:30 PM »

Hi

If you close 4 L for landing, you must close 22 R as well.

About parking positions, well, they are assigned like in real life. But think, you have more than 20 or 30 gates for those aircrafts and you have not more than 1 or 2 aircraft per company travelling to newyork every day, so... it can happen that at certain hours you have some positions empty. On the other way you have normally a lot of BAW every day and there are not enough positions for them at terminal 7. That´s why I added some positions for them in these area (no gates, just stands).

I don´t know if it answers to your question. Maybe you can explain it better because I didn´t understand it 100 % sure.

harpsi
Logged
mave128
Full Member
***
Posts: 101


« Reply #18 on: September 27, 2008, 06:49:26 PM »

hey,

thankx for reply.
the question was, why the gates ain´t occupied, but the stands are overcrowded.
even, when all gates are empty, the incoming airlines are beeing parked somewhere else, but not at there asseigned
gates.
the a 380 f.e. parked at stand 68, right kitty-cornered from its empty gate.
the question is why??

take a look to the pic. it shows what i mean. in front you can see the foreign wide bodies, usually parked at the empty gates right behind them! why??

regards,
sören

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: September 27, 2008, 07:12:30 PM by mave128 » Logged

best wishes,
sören
iolarei
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #19 on: September 28, 2008, 02:55:36 PM »

I've had this issue too with JFK and its easy to sort (if I understand your issue correctly that is). Simply randomize the parking list of the AFCAD. I did this and it sorted it for me. Hope that helps.

iolarei.
 
Logged
harpsi
Beta tester
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 416


« Reply #20 on: September 28, 2008, 04:16:38 PM »

Hi

Ok, I understand now the question. Randomizing the gates will not help. The problem is: the airlines assigned to the stands are not the same as the ones assigned to the gates. Of course if you have 20 gates assigned with (for example) KLM, OOM, SWR only and there is only 1 KLM every day at JFK, you can not expect a lot of occupied gates. In the other way you have a lot of airlines assigned to the stands. Is was like this in the original afcad retouched by me. Maybe with the help of someone with a good knowledge of KJFK we can change that and have gates and stands assigned with exactly the same number of airlines and the same codes.

harpsi 
Logged
scoeva
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #21 on: September 28, 2008, 07:55:16 PM »

I had this same issue so I decided to try leaving all of the parking stands unassigned. Now the aircraft park at the terminal first, then any left over will use the parking stands. This may not be the most realistic as per parking assignments but, I personally would rather see the terminal parking full before the parking stands. It works for me.

Scott
Logged
mave128
Full Member
***
Posts: 101


« Reply #22 on: September 28, 2008, 10:32:48 PM »

thanks scott, for the reply.

i´ll be waiting for a realistic parking assignment for jfk.
until then i´ll be using the afcd provided by harpsi.

greetings,
sören
Logged

best wishes,
sören
harpsi
Beta tester
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 416


« Reply #23 on: September 29, 2008, 02:54:36 AM »

thanks scott, for the reply.
i´ll be waiting for a realistic parking assignment for jfk.
until then i´ll be using the afcd provided by harpsi.

It is realistic... but it doesn´t mean that it should work 100 % like in reality. Remember: it´s a simulator... nothing works 100 % equal... We have to expect some compromises here and there.

harpsi
Logged
mave128
Full Member
***
Posts: 101


« Reply #24 on: September 29, 2008, 10:56:58 AM »

yes harpsi you are right.
but look at egll or eddf or klax, it works pretty fine there.

why not in kjfk as well.

best wishes,
sören
Logged

best wishes,
sören
harpsi
Beta tester
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 416


« Reply #25 on: September 29, 2008, 02:47:10 PM »

yes harpsi you are right.
but look at egll or eddf or klax, it works pretty fine there.

why not in kjfk as well.

best wishes,
sören


Then you can do it like you said: just take the assignements of that terminal and even put the gates of that terminal in the end and before cargo. All the non assigned aircrafts from airlines of foreign countries like europe for example will go there.

harpsi
Logged
Hans-Christian
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #26 on: October 02, 2008, 08:08:21 PM »

Hi Harpsi,

thank you very much for creating this KJFK-afcad!

Combined with this great scenery it works perfect.

Today, I recognised, that with strong winds coming from 280 with 17 kts the AI-traffic used the RWYs 14 (and 22).
I had to shoot AI-planes via FSUIPC into the orbit, taking off from 14L while I was on approach to RWY 32R.
Is this one of the limitations of FS9?

Best wishes
Hans-Christian

Logged
harpsi
Beta tester
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 416


« Reply #27 on: October 04, 2008, 03:50:34 AM »

Hi Harpsi,

thank you very much for creating this KJFK-afcad!

Combined with this great scenery it works perfect.

Today, I recognised, that with strong winds coming from 280 with 17 kts the AI-traffic used the RWYs 14 (and 22).
I had to shoot AI-planes via FSUIPC into the orbit, taking off from 14L while I was on approach to RWY 32R.
Is this one of the limitations of FS9?

Best wishes
Hans-Christian



First you are mentioning 13L and 31R, correct?
Maybe you started with another wind or you did your AI and aircraft loading before this wind settings. YOu need to do all the loadings, then you choose your weather, and then loanding again the scenery. If you already started your flight and the wind was different, then yes, you can´t do anything about it.

harpsi
Logged
mave128
Full Member
***
Posts: 101


« Reply #28 on: October 04, 2008, 10:43:28 PM »

hey,

i use active sky version 6 for weather simulation.
if you load some weather conditions active sky will refresh your complete ai traffic automatically,
in order to avoid things that happened to your traffic.

try it out, it works.

regards,
sören
Logged

best wishes,
sören
AaronMyers
Full Member
***
Posts: 112


« Reply #29 on: October 06, 2008, 05:17:44 AM »

What gates do Virgin America use?
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!