FSDreamTeam forum
August 11, 2020, 03:36:12 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Installation of JFK/ORD/etc. Forces Crash  (Read 12254 times)
flyboy4165
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


« on: May 12, 2013, 04:12:49 AM »

Hello hello,

I recently had to do a reinstall of FS2004 with new cds, as my previous disc was scratched beyond any reasonable measure. Upon every attempt to reinstall FSDT sceneries - And I've purchased and enjoyed JFK, ORD, DFW, HNL, LAS, KOA/OGG, along with the Cloud9 LAX (which itself is having difficulty finding the eseller component) - FS2004 crashes with the cheery little note of "Microsoft Flight Simulator has stopped working; A problem has caused the program to stop working correctly." I've attempted to reinstall FS2004 and then the FSDT sceneries numerous times, only to find my efforts were in vain and leading me to break out a glass of wine.

Please help!  Smiley
Logged
flyboy4165
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2013, 04:24:17 AM »

For some added context, I'm not using any active antivirus software that would interfere with the software installation process.
Logged
sticky1202
Full Member
***
Posts: 170



« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2013, 02:58:11 PM »

I'm assuming you installed the SP updates after the reinstall?

Jim
Logged
flyboy4165
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2013, 03:18:01 PM »

Indeed I did, yes.
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39293



WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2013, 06:37:11 PM »

Be sure you download the most current version of the installers. Don't use something old you might have downloaded in the past. And install the Stand-Alone Addon Manager for FS9 as the last thing you do, especially if you install also old Cloud9 stuff that doesn't have the installer made by FSDT.
Logged

flyboy4165
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2013, 09:36:09 PM »

I downloaded the most recent installers and still encounter that dreaded message :/
Logged
flyboy4165
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2013, 04:47:45 AM »

So to recap, I've installed and re-installed a clean version of fs2004 and then the 9.1 upgrade. Following that, I downloaded fresh installers for JFK / ORD / HNL, installed the files into FS9, and every time FS2004 has crashed.

Any ideas what may be going on here? Someone at work performing Santeria on me, perhaps?
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39293



WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2013, 01:47:45 PM »

If you saw the Windows crash message, it means your crash has been recorded by Windows Event Viewer. If you open it (under the Administrative Tools in the Control Panel), look for that crash and post crash details, we might have a clue what is causing it.
Logged

flyboy4165
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2013, 04:47:05 AM »

This is what was posted in the "friendly" view:

 fs9.exe
   9.1.0.40901
   4135a208
   unknown
   0.0.0.0
   00000000
   c0000005
   754bc9f1
   197c
   01ce5114d08b0723
   D:\Flight Simulator 9\fs9.exe
   unknown
   158a20df-bd08-11e2-8e91-9439e5d04d6b



Now as friendly as that looks, I thought I'd post the XML version as well.


<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
- <System>
  <Provider Name="Application Error" />
  <EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
  <Level>2</Level>
  <Task>100</Task>
  <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
  <TimeCreated SystemTime="2013-05-15T02:35:20.000000000Z" />
  <EventRecordID>28740</EventRecordID>
  <Channel>Application</Channel>
  <Computer>RyanFoley</Computer>
  <Security />
  </System>
- <EventData>
  <Data>fs9.exe</Data>
  <Data>9.1.0.40901</Data>
  <Data>4135a208</Data>
  <Data>unknown</Data>
  <Data>0.0.0.0</Data>
  <Data>00000000</Data>
  <Data>c0000005</Data>
  <Data>754bc9f1</Data>
  <Data>197c</Data>
  <Data>01ce5114d08b0723</Data>
  <Data>D:\Flight Simulator 9\fs9.exe</Data>
  <Data>unknown</Data>
  <Data>158a20df-bd08-11e2-8e91-9439e5d04d6b</Data>
  </EventData>
  </Event>



The above-mentioned data was copy-and-pasted immediately after another fresh install, application of the service pack, and installation of a FSDT scenery (HNL in this case). Smiley
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39293



WWW
« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2013, 09:54:51 AM »

The crash detail doesn't tell much, it's just a generic access violation error by FS9.EXE. Does it goes away if you remove the MODULES\BGLMAN.DLL ? Only remove that file, don't change anything else.
Logged

flyboy4165
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2013, 03:33:40 PM »

It does stop the crash, however the installed scenery - in this case, HNL - doesn't properly function. Instead of seeing terminal buildings, maintenance facilities, and the ever-rich textures of the scenery, it is concrete slab that abounds throughout.


* hnl.jpg (332.24 KB, 1280x768 - viewed 507 times.)
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39293



WWW
« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2013, 04:21:05 PM »

It does stop the crash, however the installed scenery - in this case, HNL - doesn't properly function

Well, of course, that file is needed to display the scenery.

Try the following:

- If you are under Vista/Win7, try to disable UAC (User Account Control), you do that from the Control Panel, under the User Account settings.

- Also, try to disable DEP as well, look here how to do it:

http://www.tech-recipes.com/rx/1261/vista_disable_dep_noexecute_protection_fix_explorer_crashing/

OR

- try to run FS9 as Administrator.

OR

- Be sure the antivirus is not interfering, download and install with the antivirus OFF, then configure it to exclude the following files from scanning:

yourFS9Folder\MODULES\bglman.dll
Logged

flyboy4165
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2013, 10:22:06 PM »

Well, of course, that file is needed to display the scenery.

Just goes to show you how much I know about how all these different files work together.


I did all three steps that you mentioned and am still encountering the issue. I've disabled the UAC (as well as DEP), ran FS9 as an Administrator, made sure my antivirus software was not interfering with the file, and did all those things in concert with each other. Is there any diagnostic information I'd be able to send that might help figure out this mystery?
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39293



WWW
« Reply #13 on: May 17, 2013, 01:27:11 PM »

Is there any diagnostic information I'd be able to send that might help figure out this mystery?

Unfortunately, FS9 doesn't have any of the diagnostic tools that FSX has, so we will have to proceed by guessing.

First, try to download the files manually and put them in the FS9 MODULES folder:

http://www.fsdreamteam.com/download/setup/bglman/release_mscd/bglman.dll
http://www.fsdreamteam.com/download/setup/bglman/bglman.dat
http://www.fsdreamteam.com/download/setup/bglman/bglman_fsdt.dat
http://www.fsdreamteam.com/download/setup/bglman/bglman_skymakers.dat
http://www.fsdreamteam.com/download/setup/bglman/bglman_qwings.dat

And see if it makes any difference.
Logged

flyboy4165
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #14 on: May 18, 2013, 06:36:37 AM »

I input the bglman.dll file prior into the modules folder and upon insertion - without installing any of the other files - the program crashed again. Removing it, the program was just fine. Even renaming the file to bglman1.dll had the same effect.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!