FSDreamTeam forum
January 28, 2021, 10:25:46 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Aircraft Start Unit  (Read 7085 times)
mroschk
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 313


« on: January 01, 2013, 06:00:30 PM »

Hello,

first all a happy new year 2013....

Then i want to ask if it is possible to have a Air Start Unit in case of a APU failure?

Matthias
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 40454



WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2013, 03:16:36 PM »

Then i want to ask if it is possible to have a Air Start Unit in case of a APU failure?

Default airplanes don't have APUs in the first place, and 3rd party airplanes which have an APU, either have their own Air Start unit (most notable example, the PMDG NGX) or if they don't, they implement APUs each one in different ways, so it would be very difficult to create an Air Start unit that works with any airplane that could *detect* an APU failure, because some 3rd party airplanes might have implemented the failure as internal gauge variables which are not easily accessed from outside and would require reverse-engineering their gauges and keep GSX updated each time they'll eventually fix their gauges.

Very few products have their own internal simulation variables accessible from the outside, or an SDK. And those that have one (again, the PMDG is the most important example), already have their own Air Start unit.
Logged

booforty
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 70



« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2013, 01:23:22 PM »

Hi Virtuali,

How about being able to have a "non-functioning" but purely visual air start unit.  So when an aircraft is parked and engines off, you have the option to select its appearance near the nose of the users aircraft until pushback is called?  It would look great and certainly most of the aircraft I fly could do with having the visual appearance of an air start unit when parked.
Logged
mroschk
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 313


« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2013, 12:15:48 AM »

Hello,

i think the standard boeing has a APU build in...

Matthias
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 40454



WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2013, 12:33:55 PM »

i think the standard boeing has a APU build in...

That's exactly what I've said: FSX has introduced an APU system, but nobody except the default 737 use it, and nobody will want a GSX feature that works only with 1 default airplane.

And, it would be very tricky supporting each 3rd party airplane, since each one have its own way to simulate the APU, it's way more complex than reading custom doors with XML variables, because there are surely tied to an XML variable (so we can put an XML expression to test it), but the APU doesn't need to, so it's likely an in-memory variable that should be accessed by reverse-engineering the gauges, which would stop working as soon as the developer releases an upgrade. We could basically do it only for the very few airplanes that have an SDK, like the PMDG which, incidentally, already has its own visible APU vehicle, so it wouldn't make sense to add a new one in GSX.
Logged

booforty
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 70



« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2013, 03:13:34 PM »

My request was more of a "Visual" air start unit rather than a "functioning" one.   Visually it would look great parked up near the nose of the aircraft - it could be an option if you want it to appear or not?
Logged
mroschk
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 313


« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2013, 10:20:39 PM »

Hello,

sorry for the late answer.

But i also mean only a visual APU, not a working one.
Also there are very often use a ASU ( Air Start Unit ) to provide Air Pressure to start the Engines.
Also as a visual future...

Both would be very nice !!

Matthias
Logged
cowings1588
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 333



« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2013, 10:19:15 AM »

i think the standard boeing has a APU build in...

That's exactly what I've said: FSX has introduced an APU system, but nobody except the default 737 use it, and nobody will want a GSX feature that works only with 1 default airplane.

And, it would be very tricky supporting each 3rd party airplane, since each one have its own way to simulate the APU, it's way more complex than reading custom doors with XML variables, because there are surely tied to an XML variable (so we can put an XML expression to test it), but the APU doesn't need to, so it's likely an in-memory variable that should be accessed by reverse-engineering the gauges, which would stop working as soon as the developer releases an upgrade. We could basically do it only for the very few airplanes that have an SDK, like the PMDG which, incidentally, already has its own visible APU vehicle, so it wouldn't make sense to add a new one in GSX.

One of those kind of things that works great only in Real Life Airplane world..  Besides it sucks having to get that big Airstart Unit going.. We Ramp agents hate it infact when an Airplane calls for it because means more work & more trouble & hassle turning a flight, when have to deal with an Airstart.. Thankfully only select few airplanes need it.. Like it better when Airplanes APU is working..  Smiley
Logged

COA
Bill
nsksleeper
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2013, 10:36:14 AM »

Hello together,

my question is if it's possible to simulate an airstart. Means with PMDG to start Nr. 1 engine at the gate and then get a pushback, because GSX says i have to cutoff engines to get P/B
Logged

Markus Schmidthaler
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 40454



WWW
« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2013, 10:38:02 AM »

my question is if it's possible to simulate an airstart. Means with PMDG to start Nr. 1 engine at the gate and then get a pushback, because GSX says i have to cutoff engines to get P/B

This has been asked several times on the forum: no, GSX doesn't allow this yet. We should add explicit support for it, as well explicit support for starting with one engine only, on specific planes.
Logged

nsksleeper
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2013, 08:34:37 AM »

Thanks a lot so far
Logged

Markus Schmidthaler
mroschk
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 313


« Reply #11 on: September 12, 2014, 11:55:06 AM »

..dont make it too complicated .. just add a ASU even if this is not working.
Just as a nice looking object.
Logged
trainmeister
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #12 on: September 27, 2014, 07:07:13 PM »

Please allow me to add my $0.02 by requesting a non-functional GSU and/or GPU simply for the aesthetic value. Cheesy
Logged
mroschk
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 313


« Reply #13 on: October 02, 2014, 12:11:08 AM »

thats what i want .. thanks
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!