FSDreamTeam forum
October 26, 2020, 05:26:21 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GSX Running From A Networked Computer (Client)  (Read 3127 times)
Buzz313th
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« on: November 15, 2011, 06:59:44 PM »

Couple questions..

Does GSX affect performance in any way?

If it does and considering that it's driven by sim connect, is there any way to be able to install it to a FSX client computer to to run in network mode to keep the needed resources for GSX off the main sim computer.

JB
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39875



WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2011, 07:48:11 PM »

Quote
Does GSX affect performance in any way?

The simple presence of GSX doesn't impact fps at all, if no services have been requested. When services are being called, the fps impact is the one of the models being called, which is roughly like adding a couple of AI airplanes.

Quote
is there any way to be able to install it to a FSX client computer to to run in network mode to keep the needed resources for GSX off the main sim computer.

There's no need to, because all the GSX script logic runs by the Couatl.exe file, which is the Python interpreter. Being a separate .EXE from FSX, it will automatically enjoy the scheduling of the OS so, on a multi-core system, it will use spare cores allocated by Windows. Since FSX uses cores to the fullest only when loading the scenery, it's fairly sure you'll have a lot of headroom to spare. This is the main advantage of Couatl compared to a .DLL module that would run in the same thread as FSX, affecting its peformances.
« Last Edit: November 15, 2011, 10:59:39 PM by virtuali » Logged

Buzz313th
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2011, 07:57:11 PM »

Great, thanks for the reply.

JB
Logged
freds
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2011, 03:24:10 PM »

Just one thing about controlling GSX from PC2. In AES you have a small remote module that does this for you so you don't need to have the control window opened in FSX all the time you need to do keypresses. That would have been nice to have so you don't clutter the FSX view.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!