FSDreamTeam forum
April 24, 2014, 04:10:29 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: GSX Released!
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: stutters  (Read 3002 times)
timmo73
Newbie
*
Posts: 35


« on: August 03, 2011, 12:39:49 AM »

I have a lot of stutters in FSX with Honolulu and was wondering what settings I can apply to Add-On Manager.  Same thing for all the Hawaii airports.  Once I'm outside the airport FPS are normal with no stutters.
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 15557



WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2011, 08:50:38 AM »

You can try to raise the Anti-popup value, which will increase smoothness, at a cost of lower frame rate, but on a fast machine this might not be noticeable.
Logged

Fsdreamteam official Facebook page
laking
Newbie
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2011, 09:40:35 PM »

I have the same problem. But no stutters at LSZH 1.xx, KLAS or KJFK. How is this possible?

Stefan
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 15557



WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2011, 10:31:09 PM »

Please, define stutters. Are they micro-pauses, or larger pauses ? Micro-pauses are cured by increasing the Anti-popup, larger pauses seems to indicate a problem with missing or wrong file, like installing Zurich 2.0 without uninstalling the old version first.
Logged

Fsdreamteam official Facebook page
laking
Newbie
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2011, 08:43:57 PM »

larger pauses, about half a second or longer. I only installed the software one time.
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 15557



WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2011, 08:19:19 AM »

larger pauses, about half a second or longer. I only installed the software one time.

Could try to download and install the Stand-Alone Addon Manager for FSX, and see if it does any difference ?
Logged

Fsdreamteam official Facebook page
laking
Newbie
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2011, 11:03:57 AM »

I downloaded and installed the Stand-Alone Addon Manager. But no differences.
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 15557



WWW
« Reply #7 on: August 07, 2011, 12:46:49 PM »

It's possible to enable the Simconnect diagnostic mode, this way, to check if there are errors causing pauses:

Open Notepad, and copy the following text:

Code:
[SimConnect]
level=normal
console=1
RedirectStdOutToConsole=1
OutputDebugString=1
; file=c:\simconnect%03u.log
; file_next_index=0
; file_max_index=9

Save the file as SIMCONNECT.INI in this folder:

Documents And Settings\YOUR LOGIN NAME\Documents\Microsoft Flight Simulator X Files

At the next FSX launch, you should see a text window with diagnostic messages scrolling down, try to identify if there are things that looks like errors when there's a pause.
Logged

Fsdreamteam official Facebook page
laking
Newbie
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #8 on: August 07, 2011, 07:32:36 PM »

I didn't find any 'errors'. Everything seems ok.
I also deinstalled and made a new insallation of the software. No change.
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 15557



WWW
« Reply #9 on: August 07, 2011, 07:49:52 PM »

I didn't find any 'errors'. Everything seems ok.
I also deinstalled and made a new insallation of the software. No change.

Then it's not the problem of a scenery. Long stutters might be caused by missing object that FSX is trying to create unsuccessfully but, if the Simconnect diagnostic doesn't report this, it's not a problem of the scenery, but something else you have in the PHNL area, like AI for example. No, Simconnect is not able to diagnose these, unless you use UT2, which creates AI using Simconnect.
Logged

Fsdreamteam official Facebook page
laking
Newbie
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #10 on: August 07, 2011, 08:03:45 PM »

Ok, thank you for your support!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!