FSDreamTeam forum
January 23, 2020, 05:27:13 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: San Diego NATOPS Carrier Mission - RELEASED  (Read 11351 times)
Orion
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 755


« on: December 21, 2010, 12:30:59 AM »

Now released! Grin

Download here: http://www.strikingsoftware.com/ccount/click.php?id=25

Quote
San Diego NATOPS Carrier Mission

Mission by Orion Lyau
Ideas from Christian "SLUDGE" Snow
__________________________________________________

Start at the ramp at NAS North Island, take off from runway 29, and fly carrier ops in multiplayer.

- Features Javier's Nimitz for FSX Acceleration (2.0)
- Support for up to 8 players
- Custom cameras
- Compatible with Jivko Rusev's improved HUD ILS

Carrier information:

- ILS on 112.00 MHz for users of the improved HUD (preset)
- Base recovery course: 250 degrees
- Final bearing: 241 degrees
- Downwind heading: 070 degrees
__________________________________________________

Requirements:

- Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Acceleration
- Javier Fernandez's Nimitz for FSX Acceleration (2.0)
__________________________________________________

Installation & Uninstallation:

To install: Run the automated installer located within the zip archive you downloaded.
To uninstall: Remove the SDNCarrierMission folder from \Microsoft Flight Simulator X\Missions\Military\


* SDNCM_imgM_c2.jpg (37.93 KB, 380x232 - viewed 631 times.)
« Last Edit: September 04, 2011, 09:12:53 AM by Orion » Logged
Mickey_Techy
Full Member
***
Posts: 189


« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2010, 12:53:04 PM »

Downloaded.

Will test it today.
Logged
Johan
Full Member
***
Posts: 249


« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2010, 02:37:17 PM »

Thanks Orion. I am away from my machine for a couple of weeks but will definitely fly your mission when I come back to the US of A.
Joyeuses fetes de Noel.

Johan
Logged
GOONIE
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 483



« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2010, 05:29:10 PM »

Thanks Orion!

I tried out the mission last night and it worked like a charm  Wink I was never able to get SF2 to work, so I am happy the NATOPS mission is working so I can hopefully fly some multi's. Do you guys still use skype or ventrillo?

Couple questions on the mission:

1. Is there a tanker in the air like the SF2 mission, or plans to add a tanker? a KC-135 (freeware updated by Sludge) would be awesome in the delta pattern
2. I adjusted javier's carrier speed in the sim.cfg file, will this affect the NATOPS mission? What speed should I use?
3. I thought I heard the PLAT camera cross hairs and data (numbers shown on the display e.g. wind, carrier #,) were updated, was this included in your mission?

Cheers,
Capt

Logged

"You've got to land here, son. This is where the food is."
Orion
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 755


« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2010, 07:26:46 PM »

Thanks guys.

Capt:

What was wrong with the original SF Carrier 2 mission?  Thought you had it working, at some point anyways.

I haven't been flying much recently, but I still use Skype if you'd like to contact me.

1. No, and no.  This is somewhat stripped down compared to SF Carrier 2, due to time constraints (wanted to get it out as soon as possible), and from when I flew, I found that not many people ever went to the tanker anyways.  Although, someone in the session is still free to fly their own plane, while others use J.R.'s In Flight Refueling gauge to refuel.

2. As long as the max speed (MPH) is greater than or equal to 35 MPH, and you didn't change the acceleration or deceleration constants, everything should be alright, I think.  The worst that could happen is that your carrier would slowly get out of sync.  For the record, in case anyone wants to know the default values, you should have this in your USS_NIMITZ sim.cfg:

[DesignSpecs]
max_speed_mph = 50     
acceleration_constants = 0.07, 0.07               //Time constant (effects responsiveness), and max acceleration (Gs)
deceleration_constants = 0.05, 0.05               //Time constant (effects responsiveness), and max acceleration (Gs)

3. Nope, the PLAT camera wasn't updated, to my knowledge anyways.  Well, not to the extent that was being talked about.  The PLAT Camera included in the Combat Hornet, SF Carrier 2.5 (updater and PLAT Camera Utility) and San Diego NATOPS Carrier Mission installer all have a working windspeed indicator (that wasn't present in the original release).
« Last Edit: December 22, 2010, 07:34:30 PM by Orion » Logged
GOONIE
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 483



« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2010, 08:13:05 PM »

Orion,

I never could figure out what happened to SF2, it used to work, but now when I load in multi or private the load bar gets to 100% then crashes FSX. It is probably something I did on my end, but no amount of uninstalls and reinstalls cleared the issue.

1. No worries, guess we can tank off each other or in the hanger.
2. Thanks, I will check these numbers against mine.
3. I tried looking for the post, couldn't find it. Thought Raz or Sludge mentioned a reworked PLAT cam display (thinner crosshair lines, realistic data) somewhere on this forum.

Cheers,
Capt
Logged

"You've got to land here, son. This is where the food is."
Orion
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 755


« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2010, 08:51:44 PM »

Capt:

Crash?  As in a crash to desktop?  If so, can you go to the event viewer, find the event where FSX crashed as a result of loading the mission, and tell me the faulting module?  Does it still occur when using my SF Carrier 2.5 update?

1. No lower deck refueling, either, sorry.
2. No problem Smiley.
3. Eh.
Logged
GOONIE
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 483



« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2010, 11:55:00 PM »

no dice with SF 2.5  Huh

Here is the event viewer error description for the CTD from FSX:
Faulting application fsx.exe, version 10.0.61637.0, faulting module terrain.dll, version 10.0.61637.0, fault address 0x00056ab6.
Logged

"You've got to land here, son. This is where the food is."
Razgriz
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 699


« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2010, 04:54:20 AM »

Do you have scenery packs/addons near San Fran?
Logged
GOONIE
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 483



« Reply #9 on: December 23, 2010, 04:25:45 PM »

Define 'near'? I have a NAS Fallon scenery add-on, could that be it?
Logged

"You've got to land here, son. This is where the food is."
Orion
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 755


« Reply #10 on: December 23, 2010, 06:49:45 PM »

Try lowering your settings.  I've read that flight sim will throw you a CTD citing terrain.dll when running out of memory.  Since San Francisco is a "detailed city" in FS, you may be running out of memory due to the extra load.

Also, have you modified the default 737 in any way shape or form?
Logged
GOONIE
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 483



« Reply #11 on: December 23, 2010, 07:19:45 PM »

Orion, the B737 might be it!

I removed all aircraft from my FSX simobjects folder that I don't fly, including the B737  Embarrassed, so I will try putting the B737 back see if that helps.

Logged

"You've got to land here, son. This is where the food is."
Orion
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 755


« Reply #12 on: December 23, 2010, 07:30:54 PM »

Oh yeah, well, there you go. Tongue

If you don't want it to appear in your aircraft selection list, in the aircraft.cfg, you can add panel=blah or something for each repaint there is, and it won't show.  With the missing panel, in theory, it should still work as AI.  I'm not sure if it'll still work as mission AI, though.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2010, 07:36:25 PM by Orion » Logged
GOONIE
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 483



« Reply #13 on: December 24, 2010, 06:02:15 AM »

all is well with SF2, thanks for the help. Wink
Logged

"You've got to land here, son. This is where the food is."
Orion
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 755


« Reply #14 on: December 24, 2010, 12:19:31 PM »

Cool, glad it's working again Smiley.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!