Author Topic: Couple things with the ground textures  (Read 6666 times)

cmpbllsjc

  • Beta tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 962
Couple things with the ground textures
« on: August 06, 2010, 11:48:41 pm »
Umberto,

I must say I am very happy with this scenery. Great FPS and the LOD'ing seems to be the best yet. However I am having a couple funny things with the ground textures when I am arriving and leaving the airport. Here's a few screens to show what I get. Seems like a bit of flickering on the ground and the runways seem to be a little blurry in the middle when appraoching. I am also getting some funny flashing of white through the textures.


abrinson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Couple things with the ground textures
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2010, 11:52:35 pm »
Looks like Direct X 10 problem. Not sure.
Alexander Brinson


cmpbllsjc

  • Beta tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 962
Re: Couple things with the ground textures
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2010, 11:55:29 pm »
Looks like Direct X 10 problem. Not sure.

Cant be that. I am on WinXP 32 bit, no DXT10 option available.

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 41609
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: Couple things with the ground textures
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2010, 11:55:44 pm »
No, it's not a DX10 problem. What was your altitude ?

cmpbllsjc

  • Beta tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 962
Re: Couple things with the ground textures
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2010, 11:57:24 pm »
No, it's not a DX10 problem. What was your altitude ?

Around maybe 1000'. Dont remember for sure but I had just taken off, so the shots were as I was getting higher.

Is there any particular mesh setting needed? Maybe like a bleed thru problem. Currently using FSGS mesh.

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 41609
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: Couple things with the ground textures
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2010, 11:59:40 pm »
Is there any particular mesh setting needed?

Yes, there is, and it's mentioned on the manual. You need to be at least at 10 m/pixel. But I'm not sure it's a problem of the mesh.

cmpbllsjc

  • Beta tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 962
Re: Couple things with the ground textures
« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2010, 12:02:10 am »
Is there any particular mesh setting needed?

Yes, there is, and it's mentioned on the manual. You need to be at least at 10 m/pixel. But I'm not sure it's a problem of the mesh.

Ok, I will check my mesh setting and see what happens. Anything else I need to double check? Only get this at this FSDT scenery and not the others.

BTW, I have KDFW on a higher layer than Mega Scenery Dallas.

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 41609
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: Couple things with the ground textures
« Reply #7 on: August 07, 2010, 12:03:38 am »
I see you are using a 3rd party camera addon. Never heard about it but, it *might* cause such issue. Can you trying using a normal FSX camera view ? Is it possible to temporarly disable that addon ?

cmpbllsjc

  • Beta tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 962
Re: Couple things with the ground textures
« Reply #8 on: August 07, 2010, 12:10:31 am »
I see you are using a 3rd party camera addon. Never heard about it but, it *might* cause such issue. Can you trying using a normal FSX camera view ? Is it possible to temporarly disable that addon ?

Yeah I am using EZDok camera. I can try disabling it by turning it off the dll.xml or exe.xml which everone its in.

I will try with stock camera view as well and report back.

cmpbllsjc

  • Beta tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 962
Re: Couple things with the ground textures
« Reply #9 on: August 07, 2010, 12:38:02 am »
I think it was a problem with the mesh. I had it set at 19m for another scenery to work right. I changed it to 10m and seems to be ok now.

I will test some more but I think that was the main issue.

Thanks