FSDreamTeam forum
June 02, 2020, 12:07:08 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: No buildings in Geneva and Zürich FSX **SOLVED**  (Read 6302 times)
simfan
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« on: January 26, 2010, 10:13:19 PM »

Dear support team

After reinstalling FSX and FS2004 everything works except your sceneries Zürich and Geneva FSX.

First I'd like to inform you that I have red all previous forum topics relating to that issue with no
success. I have the lastes updates/versions of everything (Windows XP, FSX, SP2, etc.).

However, only the buildings keep missing. This problem is not easy. It is massive. And
annoying. II never had such difficulties installing a scenery add on. And I use a lot of them.
Why can't you deliver a simple and reliable installer like other developper?

Your solution would be fairly appreciated. Or a refund. Thank you.

Best regards,
Markus

« Last Edit: January 27, 2010, 04:17:45 PM by virtuali » Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 38695



WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2010, 10:59:41 PM »

- Are you using the current version of the Addon Manager ? If not sure, download and install the current version of the Stand-Alone Addon Manager, after you installed the scenery, with the scenery installed.

- Have you seen any error messages when installing the Addon Manager ?

- Have you turned OFF your antivirus when installing the scenery and/or the updated Addon Manager ?

- Have you configured your Antivirus to ignore the following files, before trying to run FSX again ?

\Your_FSX_folder\fsdreamteam\Couatl\couatl.exe
\Your_FSX_folder\bglmanx.dll

- Have you seen the question about trusting the Addon Manager when you installed the new version ?

- Have you replied YES to that question ?

- Have you done the same for Couatl ?
Logged

simfan
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2010, 01:40:15 AM »

Hi Umberto

Thank you for your soon answer. This is my current situation:

- I uninsalled everything concerning this scenery.
- New installation with the latest files including the Addon Manager. As a result of this: The add on register in FSX disappeared...
- My anti virus is tuned to ignore actions refering to FSX files. It do not see any influence from this.
- All roots are correct, bglmanx.dll etc. Does not help at all.
- There were no questions about trusting the Addon Manager or Couatl.
- My error message after each installation is now:

Runtime Error (at 116:2188)
Error on line 0, position 0: Tags not closed: SimBase.Document.

Belive me, I am close to vommit when I hear the chime of that f*** error message???

That's all I know so far. I am looking forward to your advise.

Regards,
Markus
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 38695



WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2010, 01:43:29 AM »

Download and install the current version of the Stand-Alone Addon Manager, after you installed the scenery, with the scenery installed.

No, it's not enough you just run the Addon Manager installer that you already have, you need to download it again, because its installer has just been updated today, and will now propose to recreate a correct xml file for you, in case one with errors is found.
Logged

simfan
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2010, 03:18:14 PM »

I am glad to inform you that all works fine now.
It seems the latest addon installer fixed the problem so far.

By the way I find your sceneries great. For authenticy please
remove the Swissair logo on the terminal building at Geneva
because the airline does not exist since 2001.

Thanks for your support.

Regards,
Markus
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 38695



WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2010, 04:17:36 PM »

Ok, very good.
Logged

wallers
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2012, 06:27:56 PM »

Dear support,

one week ago I purchsed the Geneva-scenery  for FSX. Since that time I spent hours of reading the relating posts of this forum and testing several possible solutions for this problem -without any success. The scenery still does not show the buildings and Couatl fails to start.

Now I figured out, that the problem causes in my fsx.cfg. I tryed out the original fsx.cfg, which I backed up after installing the FSX and this workes.
I have added two files to this post.
The FSX_org.cfg workes
The FSX.cfg does not work

Can you please find out, which entry in the FSX.cfg causes the problem?
Thank you.

* fsx_org.CFG (6.89 KB - downloaded 239 times.)
* fsx.CFG (38.05 KB - downloaded 239 times.)
« Last Edit: November 27, 2012, 06:29:41 PM by wallers » Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 38695



WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2012, 10:40:47 PM »

Can you please find out, which entry in the FSX.cfg causes the problem?

This one (and, of course, doesn't have anything to do with any of our software, as usual...)

These are the default Simobjects paths, with FSX just installed:

SimObjectPaths.0=SimObjects\Airplanes
SimObjectPaths.1=SimObjects\Rotorcraft
SimObjectPaths.2=SimObjects\GroundVehicles
SimObjectPaths.3=SimObjects\Boats
SimObjectPaths.4=SimObjects\Animals
SimObjectPaths.5=SimObjects\Misc


And in your modified FSX.CFG:

SimObjectPaths.0=SimObjects\Airplanes
SimObjectPaths.1=SimObjects\Rotorcraft
SimObjectPaths.2=SimObjects\GroundVehicles
SimObjectPaths.3=SimObjects\Boats
SimObjectPaths.4=SimObjects\Animals
SimObjectPaths.5=SimObjects\AI-Planes_SB\Pai
SimObjectPaths.6=SimObjects\UT2 Demo Aircraft


See ? The Misc folder is missing. Instead of adding a new section for the SimObjects\AI-Planes_SB\Pai folder which is what it should be done, you (or the installer of that product) REMOVED the default SimObjects\Misc path and replaced it with the SimObjects\AI-Planes_SB\Pai path.

The Misc folder is where we put all GSX and scenery objects so, on top of losing everything with FSDT, this modification also killed a lot of default FSX scenery objects.

The correct lines should be as follows:

SimObjectPaths.0=SimObjects\Airplanes
SimObjectPaths.1=SimObjects\Rotorcraft
SimObjectPaths.2=SimObjects\GroundVehicles
SimObjectPaths.3=SimObjects\Boats
SimObjectPaths.4=SimObjects\Animals
SimObjectPaths.5=SimObjects\Misc
SimObjectPaths.6=SimObjects\AI-Planes_SB\Pai
SimObjectPaths.7=SimObjects\UT2 Demo Aircraft


Never, ever, touch the first 5 lines, only ADD after them, in sequence...
« Last Edit: November 27, 2012, 10:42:28 PM by virtuali » Logged

wallers
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2012, 04:48:52 PM »

Thank you, Umberto. This was the solution.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!