Author Topic: Failure to register and sequent buffer overrun error **SOLVED**  (Read 9064 times)

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 50691
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: Failure to register and sequent buffer overrun error
« Reply #15 on: April 12, 2022, 09:18:32 am »
What you mean? Is this for windows 10 for installing any program? Not familiar with it but I’d think to look in flight sim.com for it when I can.

It's OUR Universal Installer, links to download it are on every page of our site, including the Home Page, 2nd line of the "News" section. As I've said, it's not made for FS9 but, just installing it might fix some things missing from your Windows install.

Quote
I admit I had some trouble initially installing fs9.1 because it was “already installed” (it wasn’t) so I had to remove the BACKUP folder from the directory for the installer to work. I DID uninstall it before I reinstalled fs9, but the backup folder wasn’t removed when I had done that. Think this may be an issue with the modules? I don’t know if a complete reinstall would work, personally, as I’ve already done it a few times (albeit not in the right order). Just some thoughts for later

That seems to indicate some kind of problems. Have you upgraded to Windows 10 over an existing installation, or reinstalled everything from scratch ?

TheRedBadger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Failure to register and sequent buffer overrun error
« Reply #16 on: April 13, 2022, 06:55:49 am »
What you mean? Is this for windows 10 for installing any program? Not familiar with it but I’d think to look in flight sim.com for it when I can.

It's OUR Universal Installer, links to download it are on every page of our site, including the Home Page, 2nd line of the "News" section. As I've said, it's not made for FS9 but, just installing it might fix some things missing from your Windows install.

Quote
I admit I had some trouble initially installing fs9.1 because it was “already installed” (it wasn’t) so I had to remove the BACKUP folder from the directory for the installer to work. I DID uninstall it before I reinstalled fs9, but the backup folder wasn’t removed when I had done that. Think this may be an issue with the modules? I don’t know if a complete reinstall would work, personally, as I’ve already done it a few times (albeit not in the right order). Just some thoughts for later

That seems to indicate some kind of problems. Have you upgraded to Windows 10 over an existing installation, or reinstalled everything from scratch ?

Quote 1: I see it. Where should I install it? I have my FS9 directory outside of program files x86 (C:/Flight simulator 9 is the location). Should I let the installer install in prgram files x86 or
 choose to install it in C:/Flight simulator 9? Does it matter?

Quote 2: If I understand you correctly, the computer was Windows 8 and upgraded to 10. However less than a year ago it had a major issue (I forget which one), so in the end Windows 10 was (likely, by the Dell technicians) installed from scratch.

I think doing a FULL reinstall of FS9 (as opposed to a partial one) might relieve some problems, even this one perhaps. I only did a partial uninstall to save all the copy/pasting of my large addons (taking close to an hour to transfer), though I may just rename my aircraft and scenery folders differently (Aaircraft and sscenery, for example) to keep the sim from deleting them. Thoughts? Would that work? I'll continue with your solutions for now but this is something simple I thought may work.

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 50691
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: Failure to register and sequent buffer overrun error
« Reply #17 on: April 13, 2022, 10:12:31 am »
Quote 1: I see it. Where should I install it? I have my FS9 directory outside of program files x86 (C:/Flight simulator 9 is the location). Should I let the installer install in prgram files x86 or  choose to install it in C:/Flight simulator 9? Does it matter?

In its own folder, even in the supported simulators ( FSX, P3D and MSFS ), it should always install in its own folder, which you can change, but shouldn't be "inside" the sim.

Quote
Quote 2: If I understand you correctly, the computer was Windows 8 and upgraded to 10. However less than a year ago it had a major issue (I forget which one), so in the end Windows 10 was (likely, by the Dell technicians) installed from scratch.

But do you recall running FS9 and FSDT products after reinstalling ?

Quote
I think doing a FULL reinstall of FS9 (as opposed to a partial one) might relieve some problems, even this one perhaps. I only did a partial uninstall to save all the copy/pasting of my large addons (taking close to an hour to transfer), though I may just rename my aircraft and scenery folders differently (Aaircraft and scenery, for example) to keep the sim from deleting them. Thoughts? Would that work? I'll continue with your solutions for now but this is something simple I thought may work.

Partial reinstall are always at risk, because you can't be sure what the original add-on installer did ( like replacing stock FS9 files ) and what their uninstallers were supposed to do ( restore them ) so, it might work sometime, that's why you might have read from some users that it worked for them, but you can't be sure it will always work for everybody.

That's why a proper reinstall, using all the add-on installers, is the safest way after an OS reinstall.

For example, one of the most common mistake FS9 users do when installing on a brand new PC, which usually comes without a DVD drive, is to install FS9, then upgrade to 9.1, and then install a "nocd" crack that was originally made for 9.0 onto their 9.1 install. This SEEMS to work, at a first sight, but mixing up all the 9.1 .DLLs with the 9.0 "nocd" .EXE will cause endless problems, in particular to our products, because the software needs to read directly in memory some data to create some effects like multi-seasonal objects, etc. because in FS9 there was no official API like Simconnect, and in-memory access was required, and that will fail if the .EXE and its associated .DLL are not exactly the same version, likely caused crashes.

TheRedBadger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Failure to register and sequent buffer overrun error
« Reply #18 on: April 13, 2022, 10:36:27 pm »
Quote 1: Ok. I installed it but it still caused a crash during boot.

Quote 2: Oh yeah. I was able to use all the FSDT programs without an issue for months prior to some unexpected event. Like I said, I flew into Burbank and I noticed the "trial started for LAX", which was highly unusual as I had not made any changes AFAIK to LAX or FSDT recently.

Quote 3: Actually there's two patches; one for 9.0, one for 9.1. The flyawaysimulation site indicates installing 9.1 first before using the 9.1 patch. Unless you mean something different.

I think that's one of my last options. It /should/ work unless whatever damage is done is far more internal than fs9. If I do this, what sequence should I uninstall everything? I currently have all fsdt stuff installed including the addonmanager and fsdt update. I'd think uninstall the sceneries first (before the update and addon manager?), then 9.1, then fs9, and then reverse order.




EDIT: right now FS9 is uninstalled. No FS9.1, no FSDT, all my personal files are backed up. AFAIK everything's uninstalled correctly.

Side note, I noticed when fs9.1 is being installed, it references fs9.exe. Should the fs9.1 be installed /after/ the fs9.1nocd patch is installed?

Lastly, I know this is a lot of information, but, when and if I do install fs9 the first time, I get a "compatibility" issue. Should I just ignore this and say "fs9 was installed correctly"? I assume this is because I am just running fs9 on windows 10.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2022, 02:33:02 pm by virtuali »

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 50691
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: Failure to register and sequent buffer overrun error
« Reply #19 on: April 14, 2022, 02:35:30 pm »
Side note, I noticed when fs9.1 is being installed, it references fs9.exe. Should the fs9.1 be installed /after/ the fs9.1nocd patch is installed?

The nocd patch should always be installed last, after the 9.1 update is installed. And, you must be absolutely sure it's a 9.1 NOCD patch. A nocd for 9.0 "seems" to work, but in fact it's not.

Quote
Lastly, I know this is a lot of information, but, when and if I do install fs9 the first time, I get a "compatibility" issue. Should I just ignore this and say "fs9 was installed correctly"? I assume this is because I am just running fs9 on windows 10.

I don't recall if I got that warning on install, but I assure you FS9 runs just fine with no Compatibility options set. In fact, it runs worse with such options enabled so, be sure Windows hasn't automatically set them for you.

TheRedBadger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Failure to register and sequent buffer overrun error
« Reply #20 on: April 15, 2022, 06:31:00 am »
It still crashes.... ugh.. I was hoping the nuclear option would just fix it as most solutions after that are tedious, high-difficulty and low success rate.

HOWEVER when I remove the bglman.dll file, the sim is able to load. But I know I can't just run without it since it does.... stuff. The event viewer still indicates that as the source of the crash, and there's nothing in the regedit referencing it either. I feel like there's nothing in my simulator that is causing the crash other than that one file.

I imagien without that file I can't run anything FSDT though.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2022, 05:18:26 pm by virtuali »

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 50691
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: Failure to register and sequent buffer overrun error
« Reply #21 on: April 15, 2022, 05:19:23 pm »
I imagine without that file I can't run anything FSDT though.

No, you can't. I'm sorry but, other than saying it's supposed to work, I think I exhausted all solutions.

TheRedBadger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Failure to register and sequent buffer overrun error
« Reply #22 on: April 15, 2022, 10:20:41 pm »
I imagine without that file I can't run anything FSDT though.

No, you can't. I'm sorry but, other than saying it's supposed to work, I think I exhausted all solutions.

No worries, I appreciate your help up to this point. I’m going to look elsewhere for potential leads. I will however post some other potentially important observations in case there’s anything overlooked later.

TheRedBadger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Failure to register and sequent buffer overrun error
« Reply #23 on: April 16, 2022, 05:08:15 am »
I imagine without that file I can't run anything FSDT though.

No, you can't. I'm sorry but, other than saying it's supposed to work, I think I exhausted all solutions.

Some more information prior to this mishap:

-I had been using JFK, LAX, and DFW FSDT for sometime without issues. Last time I appeared to have used LAX was in February (shockingly). DFW I use more often and I've had no issues with it.
-About a couple of days before the crash I had chosen to reinstall ORD and experienced no issues during installation. I think I did have to re-register it. I think.
-On that flight from DFW-BUR, DFW was working fine. It was then that LAX appeared to work in "trial period". Multiple attempts to re-register/activate it failed. Even after it had appeared on the drop-down menu to be already activated (I think), restarting the simulator would only result in the scenery buildings deactivating after a minute or two. That or entering the key did nothing.

Big issue here now that I think about it.

-Re-installing LAX from scratch to fix that trial period bug, I must have clicked on "remove addon manager" (out of haste) after the uninstall was complete, since the other sceneries appeared to have disappeared. LAX was the only one that was "re-installed", but again, it was in trial period again, even after seemingly having it registered again.
-The final blow was me pasting the activation key in the popup dialog /twice/, and then that's when the buffer overrun error hit, the sim crashed, and I was never able to get access back to those sceneries.

I may have mentioned that already, but I thought I'd explain it in more detail. Maybe one of those actions was fatally critical?

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 50691
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: Failure to register and sequent buffer overrun error
« Reply #24 on: April 16, 2022, 02:43:32 pm »
I had been using JFK, LAX, and DFW FSDT for sometime without issues. Last time I appeared to have used LAX was in February (shockingly)

The old Addon Manager might have worked and, if nothing happened in your system that would eventually triggered a reactivation (a Windows reinstall, a bios update, a major change of an hardware component ), you could foreseeably stay with the previous version "forever".

The problems would start if you had to reactivate for any of these reasons: THEN you MUST had the updated Addon Manager, since the Esellerate servers closed in 2019, so there would be nobody the old software could talk to, that's why you need the updated software, otherwise there would be no way to exit from Trial.

Since the new software is confirmed to work in Windows 10, I already listed all the the only possible reasons why it might not work for you, with all the known possible solutions:

- The Addon Manager MUST be installed last. If you reinstall any scenery for FS9, you MUST reinstall the Addon Manager again, because the installer might "downgrade" it to the Esellerate version, since we have updated the Stand-Alone Addon Manager for FS9, but not the single products installers, that's why the last thing you do must be installing the Stand-Alone Addon Manager for FS9.

- The antivirus might interfere, blocking the update or, even worse, blocking some files and let pass others, which will 100% result in a crash on start. This should be fixed by adding the WHOLE FS9 FOLDER to the antivirus Exclusions then THEN reinstall the Stand-Alone Addon Manager for FS9 again, to be sure the correct version is installed fully without antivirus interference

- You might miss some .NET libraries required by the new software to work. This shouldn't normally happen, since the Addon Manager installer will surely install them in FS9 and register them in Windows. That's why I said to try the new Uninversal Installer which, although the program itself is not used for FS9, it will install and register the same libraries, so maybe it would work, but that's not normally required.

You might try this last thing:

- Go in the Windows Control Panel, and UNINSTALL the Addon Manager for FS9 AND (important) reply YES to the question "Do you want to the remove the Addon Manager?"

- After the uninstall is complete, reinstall it again, maybe the previous uninstall manager to clean up some leftover files that needed to be removed.

TheRedBadger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Failure to register and sequent buffer overrun error
« Reply #25 on: April 16, 2022, 09:31:32 pm »
The old add on manager (1.8?) is still under programs and features in windows 10. It may have been partially removed when I uninstalled LAX that one time but not correctly (saying “yes” to “remove the add on manager?”) . I do remember trying to remove it but IIRC I got some error along the lines of “the uninstaller ain’t here” or “already uninstalled”. I can’t remember, again I’ll reverify. Think that may be an issue?
« Last Edit: April 16, 2022, 11:37:30 pm by virtuali »

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 50691
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: Failure to register and sequent buffer overrun error
« Reply #26 on: April 16, 2022, 11:37:57 pm »
As I've said:

- Go in the Windows Control Panel, and UNINSTALL the Addon Manager for FS9 AND (important) reply YES to the question "Do you want to the remove the Addon Manager?"

If you have multiple entries, uninstall them all.

TheRedBadger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Failure to register and sequent buffer overrun error
« Reply #27 on: April 17, 2022, 05:37:29 am »
As I've said:

- Go in the Windows Control Panel, and UNINSTALL the Addon Manager for FS9 AND (important) reply YES to the question "Do you want to the remove the Addon Manager?"

If you have multiple entries, uninstall them all.

When trying to uninstall the older version of the virtuali addon manager, it indicates it "cannot find unins001.exe. Make sure you typed the name correctly and try again". I did say "yes" to the addon manager question when uninstalling the newer, 1.9 version. I don't know if the older addon manager is actually still there.

A couple of scenarios: the older version is still lingering somewhere in my computer causing the crash and I have to find another way to remove it. Scenario 2 is that it is only listed in programs and features, but is actually not installed onto my computer anymore. Thoughts?

Actually did a search of "1.81" and found this (I know, only LAX is still installed but I can remove it if I need to next):

https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/852052198812549170/965094452534317187/unknown.png

I assume I should delete this? Won't do anything until your mark.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2022, 12:10:39 am by virtuali »

virtuali

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 50691
    • VIRTUALI Sagl
Re: Failure to register and sequent buffer overrun error
« Reply #28 on: April 18, 2022, 12:14:54 am »
When trying to uninstall the older version of the virtuali addon manager, it indicates it "cannot find unins001.exe. Make sure you typed the name correctly and try again". I did say "yes" to the addon manager question when uninstalling the newer, 1.9 version. I don't know if the older addon manager is actually still there.

That's because you removed something manually, so you left the orphaned registry entry for the old uninstaller. You can remove the entry, so it won't appear on the Control Panel, but that's it.

My previous suggestions of installing the CURRENT Addon Manager once, uninstalling it by replying YES to the question "Do you want to the remove the Addon Manager?", then reinstalling it again, still stands to be sure nothing of the old version is left, the orphaned uninstaller won't cause any issues to the new files, once you do what I said to do. The most important part is:

- Only using the LATEST Addon Manager for FS9.

- Only installing AFTER all the sceneries.

- Do the double Uninstall/reinstall replying YES to the question "Do you want to the remove the Addon Manager?" THIS is what will trigger a clean up of all old files.

If that still doesn't work, then I'm afraid your problem is deeper into your Windows install, so we reached the end of the kind of support we could offer for a 19 years old simulator ( yes, FS9 came out in the Summer of 2003... )

TheRedBadger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Failure to register and sequent buffer overrun error
« Reply #29 on: April 26, 2022, 05:24:31 am »
When trying to uninstall the older version of the virtuali addon manager, it indicates it "cannot find unins001.exe. Make sure you typed the name correctly and try again". I did say "yes" to the addon manager question when uninstalling the newer, 1.9 version. I don't know if the older addon manager is actually still there.

That's because you removed something manually, so you left the orphaned registry entry for the old uninstaller. You can remove the entry, so it won't appear on the Control Panel, but that's it.

My previous suggestions of installing the CURRENT Addon Manager once, uninstalling it by replying YES to the question "Do you want to the remove the Addon Manager?", then reinstalling it again, still stands to be sure nothing of the old version is left, the orphaned uninstaller won't cause any issues to the new files, once you do what I said to do. The most important part is:

- Only using the LATEST Addon Manager for FS9.

- Only installing AFTER all the sceneries.

- Do the double Uninstall/reinstall replying YES to the question "Do you want to the remove the Addon Manager?" THIS is what will trigger a clean up of all old files.

If that still doesn't work, then I'm afraid your problem is deeper into your Windows install, so we reached the end of the kind of support we could offer for a 19 years old simulator ( yes, FS9 came out in the Summer of 2003... )

OK! So I did a factory reset of the computer (gosh that caused problems for 2 days..), installed the simulator before anything else, then 9.1, then the nocd patch, and then..

DFW, /then/ the addon manager, and finally the sim loaded without problems. I registered the simulator using the activation key I was provided and it quickly, without issue, successfully activated (even reading "activated" in the addon manager menu for DFW).

Question is (I may find out in a bit), do I need to re-register each scenery if I uninstall and then reinstall the addon manager?

Also, in the past when uninstalling the addon manager, it asks me after the fact "do I wish to remove the addon manager" even though I have already uninstalled it (didn't I?). Do I press "YES" everytime? Or does it not matter since I'll be reinstalling the addon manager anyways after I add a new scenery?
« Last Edit: April 26, 2022, 05:27:36 am by TheRedBadger »