FSDreamTeam forum
March 07, 2021, 02:13:59 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: OíHare oh damn fsx  (Read 946 times)
DaveBburns
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


« on: April 23, 2020, 01:57:47 AM »

Really cheesed off this isnít upto date 2 runways missing
10C 10R.     And the old diagonal runway is still there SORT IT OUT purchased this today good job it was cheap or Iíd be peeeeeeed
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 40646



WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2020, 10:52:09 AM »

I don't fully understand what you mean but, generally speaking, is there are obvious reasons why:

- O'Hare for FSX is called "O'Hare 2011"

- Is so much cheaper than the new version

We stopped any new development for FSX in 2017 and today, in the light of a new Flight Simulator coming from Microsoft, that choice makes even more sense than it did back then. KORD V2 won't even fit in the limited RAM FSX has...

 So, if you want a fully updated KORD, which looks so much better than the FSX ever did, you should really switch to P3D. With V5 just released, there hasn't been a better time to move away from FSX.

And yes, there's a discount when upgrading from O'Hare 2011 to KORD V2.
Logged

DaveBburns
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2020, 12:51:23 PM »

Thatís not the point though is it telling someone to move sims if your not going to update the sceneries to current then why sell it everyone other sim sites seem to manage it.  Updating 2 runways surely ainít gonna kill the sim but seems it a case of thanks for ya dollar
« Last Edit: April 23, 2020, 12:54:15 PM by virtuali » Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 40646



WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2020, 01:03:17 PM »

Thatís not the point though is it telling someone to move sims if your not going to update the sceneries to current then why sell it everyone other sim sites seem to manage it.

You clearly have no idea how extensive the changes in O'Hare were, and they are not even finished.

The new runways had a dramatic effect to all the background, lots of taxiway has changed, several built-up areas were torn down and other appeared new we took 2 years to redo KORD V2 but, obviously, by doing such big change we took also the chance to do something better because ( maybe you didn't knew ) we originally released KORD in 2008, so it's based on 2006-2007 technology and PC specs and it's called O'Hare 2011, because in 2011 we ALREADY did what you are probably suggesting here, and provided a FREE update to support a new runway which opened back then.

But that was 2011, there was no alternative to FSX, and it was "only" 3 years since we released KORD, so we decide to do "just" a free runway upgrade.

ANOTHER 9 years have passed, P3D came out, 64 bit came out, PBR came out, today's PC are so much powerful than 2008's so it was the right time to redo KORD from scratch and, even if we remade it from scratch ( we haven't saved *anything* from the old version ), we nevertheless offer an upgrade discount.

THAT'S why O'Hare 2011 it's called like that, to make abundantly clear what you are buying ( if the Trial version wasn't enough )

THAT'S why we announced in 2017 to have stopped any new FSX developement, so nobody would expect anything new for FSX

THAT'S why O'Hare 2011 today is so much cheaper than the new version.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2020, 01:05:17 PM by virtuali » Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!