FSDreamTeam forum
April 01, 2020, 10:14:27 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 28C ILS won't come alive  (Read 839 times)
Papagiorgio
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 86



« on: January 01, 2020, 09:42:37 PM »

Flying the PMDG 737NGXu in 28C.  On final within 5 miles, 108.95 set on both nav radios, 273 set on both courses.  ILS showing on PFD.  White diamonds don't show up on PFD. If I turn on APP or LOC on the MCP,  I get the magenta diamonds on both the glide scope and localizer.  FAC and GP show in the annunciator.  This means that I'm not getting the ILS signal, even when I'm 5miles out from the runway.  I did approaches on the other runways and everthing was fine.  Just 28C is the problem.  I checked the map in P3D and the frequencies are correct.  I'ved checked the AFCAD in use and that is also correct, KORD_ADEX_FSDT.bgl
I suspect it is a scenery issue but cannot figure what the problem is.  ILS 28C is set in the FMC, NOT RNAV.

Papagiorgio

Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 37918



WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2020, 11:39:48 AM »

I checked the map in P3D and the frequencies are correct.  I'ved checked the AFCAD in use and that is also correct, KORD_ADEX_FSDT.bgl I suspect it is a scenery issue but cannot figure what the problem is.  ILS 28C is set in the FMC, NOT RNAV.

That's NOT a scenery issue, which you can easily confirm if you open the KORD V2 AFCAD with ADE, it will show 28C ILS is correctly set with its proper frequency of 108.95, and it's proper ID IVZE

Before saying it's a scenery problem, it's always best to check with a default airplane first.

The PMDG airplanes, as far as I know, do not "tune" the ILS from the scenery, like default airplanes do, they rely on their own Navdata so, if something doesn't work, especially on an airport like this that most of its runways updated, it's usually a problem of not having updated the airplane own Navdata.

As you can see in the attached screenshot, 28C IVZE ILS works just fine with a default 737, showing the scenery is not a problem.


* 2020-1-3_10-38-51-743.jpg (350.88 KB, 1799x1113 - viewed 52 times.)
Logged

Papagiorgio
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 86



« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2020, 01:28:22 AM »

I've checked it with the default Bravo, and it does not pickup the localizer or glide scope.  It will pick it up from the other end, 10C but not 28C.  So this is not the plane, it has to be the scenery.  The frequencies and the course are correct, so what else can it be? 

Papagiorgio
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 37918



WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2020, 03:07:25 PM »

I've checked it with the default Bravo, and it does not pickup the localizer or glide scope.  It will pick it up from the other end, 10C but not 28C.  So this is not the plane, it has to be the scenery.

That's precisely the reason why I posted a screenshot from of the default 737, showing the 28C ILS being picked up, using the correct frequency and the correct ID, to prove is NOT the scenery. Find attached a screenshot of the default Mooney Bravo, which is working as well.

Quote
The frequencies and the course are correct, so what else can it be?

Another scenery in conflict, for example.


* 2020-1-7_14-7-0-480.jpg (453.05 KB, 1999x1318 - viewed 47 times.)
Logged

Dave_YVR
Beta tester
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 642


« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2020, 08:47:39 PM »

 It looks like he may have an issue with the old 32L ILS which was also 108.95 but id'd as IRVG.
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 37918



WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2020, 04:09:55 PM »

It looks like he may have an issue with the old 32L ILS which was also 108.95 but id'd as IRVG

If he does, is not coming from FSDT KORD, since all the old ILS has been correctly orphaned in ADE, which means they have been moved out of their runway and set to 108.00 with a "do not use" flag.
Logged

Dimon
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 481



« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2020, 04:25:50 PM »

Ok,

I'm confirming the issue that both 10R/28L and 10C/28C do not pick up the signal as their current frequencies are de-facto OLD 14/32 frequencies.

1. I have 2001 Navaids DB for PMDG/FSLans
2. No other sceneries, no conflict sceneries, no duplicate ADE files. i know the drill as I have been dealing with AFCAD/ADE for 18 years since day one.

I will dig down later tonight into both Navigraph DB and look how ADE file for KORD was constructed. Perhaps there is no easy solution for this situation except for disabling default Navaids first (very tricky thing). OR assign fake frequencies and memorize them for your next flight.
Logged

i7-6700k@4.6Ghz, Z170 Delux, 980Ti-6GB5700, 2TB EVO850, 16GB DDR4 RAM Win7/64 PRO.
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 37918



WWW
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2020, 06:11:14 PM »

I'm confirming the issue that both 10R/28L and 10C/28C do not pick up the signal as their current frequencies are de-facto OLD 14/32 frequencies.

I already posted two screenshots showing 28C ILS working fine with two different default airplanes. Here's another one, this time with the PMDG 737 NGUx:

http://www.fsdreamteam.com/images/ils_kord_28c_pmdg_OK.jpg
Logged

srcooke
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 69


« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2020, 06:21:51 PM »

PMDG & FSL 28C, no problem here:



* capture_001_10012020_160646.jpg (72.89 KB, 993x958 - viewed 47 times.)

* capture_002_10012020_162119.jpg (82.16 KB, 1603x773 - viewed 46 times.)
Logged

Regards
Stephen Cooke
Dave_YVR
Beta tester
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 642


« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2020, 02:37:27 AM »

Run live update and let it replace the airport file. Fixed.
Logged
sticky1202
Full Member
***
Posts: 163



« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2020, 05:04:31 PM »

Sitting on runway 28L, nav tuned to 110.75, and I'm getting an ID of IIDN. Any idea where this could be coming from? It is not aligned with the runway for sure.

Jim


* KORD28L#3.png (2843.37 KB, 1885x1060 - viewed 28 times.)
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 37918



WWW
« Reply #11 on: March 03, 2020, 02:56:57 PM »

Sitting on runway 28L, nav tuned to 110.75, and I'm getting an ID of IIDN. Any idea where this could be coming from? It is not aligned with the runway for sure.

It's surely not coming from FSDT O'Hare, since the only ILS in the scenery on the 110.75 frequency is IVQX, and it's surely aligned to the runway. The IIDN was the ID used by the old rwy 32, and we orphaned it by setting it to 108.00, which is the correct method used in ADE to remove an ILS that doesn't exists anymore, which is re-defining it with a different frequency.

Find in the attached screenshots, 28L works fine when tuning 110.75, and is correctly ID-ed as IVQX, both in the default 737 and in the PMDG NGXu


* 2020-3-3_13-31-1-278.jpg (520.55 KB, 2278x1230 - viewed 21 times.)

* 2020-3-3_13-54-48-945.jpg (509.14 KB, 2278x1230 - viewed 19 times.)
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!