FSDreamTeam forum
March 29, 2020, 07:25:40 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: MSAA KORD?  (Read 475 times)
B777ER
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 335


« on: January 18, 2020, 04:16:26 AM »

Umberto, any chance you all are considering the MSAA treatment you all did for Basel? I would reinstall and use your version if the below option was available. The shimmering is just to much as it stands now so I use DD version. I will not go up above x8 MSAA.

- Normal maps for MSAA setting further toned down to reduce shimmering
Logged

Eric
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 37875



WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2020, 01:35:40 PM »

We'll look into this, after the release of 4.5 HF2, which solved the problem of SSAA not working, complains about KORD stopped almost immediately so, now that users should probably understood what the real problem was ( bug in P3D pre-HF2 and/or hardware not capable to use SSAA ), we might do an alternate texture set for KORD available through Live Update to be installed automatically.

In any case, we already posted an alternate texture on the forum a month ago:

http://www.fsdreamteam.com/forum/index.php/topic,22045.msg152568.html#msg152568

But I'm still firmly convinced this is not the proper solution, since it makes the textures less realistic and not physically accurate anymore.
Logged

B777ER
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 335


« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2020, 05:29:59 PM »

We'll look into this, after the release of 4.5 HF2, which solved the problem of SSAA not working, complains about KORD stopped almost immediately so, now that users should probably understood what the real problem was ( bug in P3D pre-HF2 and/or hardware not capable to use SSAA ), we might do an alternate texture set for KORD available through Live Update to be installed automatically.

In any case, we already posted an alternate texture on the forum a month ago:

http://www.fsdreamteam.com/forum/index.php/topic,22045.msg152568.html#msg152568

But I'm still firmly convinced this is not the proper solution, since it makes the textures less realistic and not physically accurate anymore.

So,  tried the normal maps for the ground textures and they look so much better in the sim compared with the ones they replaced. Sure would be nice to have the option to do that with the rest of the buildings, etc.... textures. Hope you all give it serious consideration. Thanks
Logged

Eric
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 37875



WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2020, 01:41:54 PM »

So,  tried the normal maps for the ground textures and they look so much better in the sim compared with the ones they replaced. Sure would be nice to have the option to do that with the rest of the buildings, etc.... textures. Hope you all give it serious consideration.

I think the flat textures looks very bad and, since the problem with shimmering mostly happening at night with landing lights on, the most we'll do is to do a similar thing as we did for Basel, and have the Live Updater installing the flat GROUND textures only (those you could download from that link), if SSAA is not enabled in the sim, that's it.

Redoing the whole texture set and destroy the PBR, not an option.
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!