FSDreamTeam forum
January 24, 2020, 02:29:42 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Invisible barrier causing airplane to bounce on taxiway A south of the bridge  (Read 147 times)
413x3
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 505


« on: January 06, 2020, 08:23:05 PM »

Can you fix the small mesh issue when setting mesh 1m in p3d, right on taxiway A past A6 once you are crossing over the bridge going east on taxiway A, my airplane bounces up and down once running over some invisible barrier. It only happens with mesh 1m slider and I need this for other scenery. Thanks.
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 37490



WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2020, 02:01:54 PM »

It only happens with mesh 1m slider and I need this for other scenery.

There's no such barrier anywhere in the scenery, it's just an artifact caused by rounding errors in the mesh handling, which can change depending which mesh you use and on the area, but you can be sure the airport scenery itself is entirely flattened.

That's why the KLAX manual says:

Quote
Keep the “Mesh Resolution” slider at 5m/pixel, and the “Mesh Complexity” slider at 100. With less resolution, some visual problems might appear.

In some cases, the visual problems might also appear at higher resolutions the scenery was tested with.

Logged

413x3
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 505


« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2020, 06:25:06 AM »

Is there any chance to fix it by providing a mesh to smooth the airport area? You include a mesh bgl in the Las Vegas scenery product.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2020, 01:21:34 PM by virtuali » Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 37490



WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2020, 01:24:35 PM »

Is there any chance to fix it by providing a mesh to smooth the airport area? You include a mesh bgl in the Las Vegas scenery product.

Of course we already provide a mesh but, depending on your mesh complexity settings and your other installed meshes, those spikes cannot always be prevented, it's not as if we have them in our mesh (it's entirely flat all over the airport), they are caused by the sim, after it has combined all the installed meshes, and are the result of rounding errors if you set the complexity too high.
Logged

413x3
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 505


« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2020, 07:37:50 PM »

Is there any chance to fix it by providing a mesh to smooth the airport area? You include a mesh bgl in the Las Vegas scenery product.

Of course we already provide a mesh but, depending on your mesh complexity settings and your other installed meshes, those spikes cannot always be prevented, it's not as if we have them in our mesh (it's entirely flat all over the airport), they are caused by the sim, after it has combined all the installed meshes, and are the result of rounding errors if you set the complexity too high.

I use FreeMeshX, Orbx Southern California, and because of a large number of sceneries, 1m mesh slider setting in p3d. I wish there was a way to fix that one little spike Sad
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 37490



WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2020, 03:15:16 PM »

Again, by keeping the “Mesh Resolution” slider at 5m/pixel, and the “Mesh Complexity” slider at 100, as the manual says.
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!