FSDreamTeam forum
January 18, 2021, 03:06:14 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: FS Crash  (Read 3147 times)
viennaman
Full Member
***
Posts: 102


« on: July 25, 2009, 06:51:50 PM »

Hi Folks,

i just came from EHAM to KORD - Short before the apporach - black screen and no chance to do anything - i had to turn of the whole computer. What can this problem be ?

MArek
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 40418



WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2009, 10:58:31 PM »

Nothing related to the scenery. You probably were using a memory hungry airplane (there are some that takes up to 1GB), and you likely exhausted the RAM. This is more likely to happen at the end of a flight.

You can try to patch FS9.EXE to allow more than 2GB, and Windows as well. Of course, providing you *have* more than 2GB...

Have a look here for instructions how to do this:

http://forums1.avsim.net/index.php?showtopic=239523&st=75&p=1526667&#entry1526667
Logged

AirBorne
Full Member
***
Posts: 111


« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2009, 12:31:44 AM »

Iīm too having problems almost everytime I arrive at KORD. It happens in short flights, such as departing from Las Vegas, Orlando and so on. The plane I use isnīt known as a memory hog, and in fact this problem doesnīt happen when arriving at other large airports, such as FSDTīs New York Kennedy and Las Vegas, even after a long haul (lots of hours flying). Iīve tried to change the priority of the sceneries, but to no avail.


Rgds,

WF
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 40418



WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2009, 10:28:15 AM »

The fact that something appears at KORD, doesn't means the problem is caused by the KORD scenery.

Apart from RAM exhaustion, which is only one possible cause of a crash, another issue might be an AI airplane model with corrupted or missing textures, that can be found at KORD, but not at other places you went.

Other things might be the background scenery that has problems in this area. For example, here's a thread on Flight1's forum, of an user that had crashes at JFK that initially related to our scenery, but it turns out the solution was to remove a .BGL from UT USA:

http://www.simforums.com/forums/forum_posts.asp?TID=30236&PID=173758

You can also find some useful info about memory config by following that thread.
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!