Author Topic: "FCS FAIL", what to do?  (Read 5508 times)

Amigo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
"FCS FAIL", what to do?
« on: August 14, 2018, 11:25:47 am »
Hi all;
After updating FA-18C_FSXBA_BA_18.2.22 on P3D v3, I got a "FCS FAIL".
Could you guys please give me a hint how to get read of it?
Thank you in advance, Amigo

jimi08

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 582
    • FSX BLUE ANGELS
Re: "FCS FAIL", what to do?
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2018, 12:08:16 pm »
Amigo,

Please check the following:
For v3:
-Verify that you have downloaded and installed the FSX version (32 bit) of the aircraft and not the P3Dv4 variant
.
-Verify that you have placed the correct, 32-bit version of the "HornetFCS.dll" file in your main FSXBA Hornet Gauges (i.e. Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\SimObjects\Airplanes\FA-18C_FSXBA_BA_18.2.22\Panel.Fleet) Folder.  This can be found in the folder labeled "FSX Specific Files" which is in the FA-18C_BA_18.2.22 folder.

-Verify that you have installed the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package (x86) at https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/confirmation.aspx?id=5555

For v4:
-Verify that you have downloaded and installed the P3D version of the aircraft. 
-Verify that you have placed the "HornetFCS.dll" file in your main P3D Gauges (i.e. \Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\gauges) Folder.

Give that a go and let me know if that helps.

-Jimi

Justin "Jimi" Hendrix
FSX Blue Angels
FSXBA F/A-18C Hornet Latest Download Link: http://www.fsdreamteam.com/forum/index.php/topic,6944.msg117011.html#msg1

Amigo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: "FCS FAIL", what to do?
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2018, 07:04:14 pm »
Hi Jimi;
as always, you are the genius. Thank you for your speedy response.
I followed your instructions and the beautiful bird flies flawless again.
Sorry, this was my mistake not knowing the difference between the versions of P3D v3 and P3D v4.
You made my day, thanks a lot, Amigo

jimi08

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 582
    • FSX BLUE ANGELS
Re: "FCS FAIL", what to do?
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2018, 10:10:54 pm »
Great!  Glad things worked out and thanks for sharing your fix action.  Definitely no genius here brother.  Lot of experience through trial and error (a lot more on the error part lol).

Have a good one!

-Jimi

Justin "Jimi" Hendrix
FSX Blue Angels
FSXBA F/A-18C Hornet Latest Download Link: http://www.fsdreamteam.com/forum/index.php/topic,6944.msg117011.html#msg1

ReggieC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: "FCS FAIL", what to do?
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2018, 07:58:32 pm »
Greetings Gentlemen,

I am flying version 18.3 in P3Dv4.3 and I'm getting the "FCS Fail" advisory in the HUD as well. I have copied the gauge described earlier into the main gauges file, but still getting the advisory. I did not have this problem prior to the 4.3 upgrade.

Any assistance appreciated.

Reggie

ReggieC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: "FCS FAIL", what to do?
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2018, 11:11:08 pm »
Disregard, I figured it out.

Thanks to all for what you do here.

Reggie

jring2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: "FCS FAIL", what to do?
« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2019, 12:44:13 pm »

I replaced the dll file - made certain I had a version 4 download and am still getting the "FCS fail" warning. I haven't figured it out.  ???
AMD 8350 Eight Core 4.0ghz, 16 gig 1200 DDR3 64 bit ram, Microsoft Sidewinder Precision II. GeForce GTX 970 w/4gig
OS=Windows 10 64 bit, FSX w/Acceleration & P3d v3.4, REXII, Genesis mesh

jring2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: "FCS FAIL", what to do?
« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2019, 05:46:11 pm »
Okay so it turns out the dll file goes into the panel folder also. Not just the "guages" folder. At least when I copied it to the Fleet.Panel file it fixed it.
AMD 8350 Eight Core 4.0ghz, 16 gig 1200 DDR3 64 bit ram, Microsoft Sidewinder Precision II. GeForce GTX 970 w/4gig
OS=Windows 10 64 bit, FSX w/Acceleration & P3d v3.4, REXII, Genesis mesh