FSDreamTeam forum
August 13, 2020, 07:21:26 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hawaii Airports Vol.1 PHLI Mesh Problems  (Read 2947 times)
Stefan2002
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


« on: October 25, 2017, 07:07:53 PM »

Hello,

i have some Mesh Problemes i guess with the PHLI Airport. It is hard to discribe but the Mesh is changeing while flying over the Airport Area all the time.
The Screenshot 6 and 7 shows very good what i mean.

Any ideas?

Is it Possible to disable only the PHLI Airport Scenery? If i uncheck the Scenery there are still objects at the Airport.

King regards

Stefan


* Screenshot_1.jpg (304.03 KB, 1915x1053 - viewed 374 times.)

* Screenshot_2.jpg (331.09 KB, 1915x1053 - viewed 364 times.)

* Screenshot_3.jpg (312.69 KB, 1915x1053 - viewed 353 times.)

* Screenshot_4.jpg (384.44 KB, 1915x1053 - viewed 311 times.)

* Screenshot_6.jpg (347.01 KB, 1915x1053 - viewed 313 times.)

* Screenshot_7.jpg (314.42 KB, 1915x1053 - viewed 308 times.)
« Last Edit: October 25, 2017, 07:12:24 PM by Stefan2002 » Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39322



WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2017, 06:05:00 PM »

The problem is not the airport, but a 3rd party mesh you installed.

Since the sim doesn't support sloped runways, airports are usually made flat along all their published altitude. The default mesh has been preprocessed to smooth out these elevation differences but, if you have a 3rd party mesh that hasn't been processed this way, you'll see the famous "plateau" effect around the airport.

See this post here for a more detailed explanation:

http://www.fsdreamteam.com/forum/index.php/topic,12139.msg92374.html#msg92374
Logged

Stefan2002
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2017, 08:43:11 PM »

Well, it is the same even with no 3 Party Mesh.
Just ORBX Global and Open LC USA.

But can you tell me how to uncheck only PHLI?
There are still some objects if I only uncheck the PHLI Scenery
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39322



WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2017, 08:51:19 PM »

Well, it is the same even with no 3 Party Mesh.
Just ORBX Global and Open LC USA.

Some of these must have changed the default mesh. Also, try to set the Mesh Complexity to not higher than 5 meter/pixel. Setting it too high can cause this too.
Logged

Stefan2002
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2017, 08:53:21 PM »

Quote
But can you tell me how to uncheck only PHLI?
There are still some objects if I only uncheck the PHLI Scenery
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39322



WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2017, 08:55:25 PM »

Quote
But can you tell me how to uncheck only PHLI?

You don't say which sim you use so, depending on the version, the method is different.
Logged

Stefan2002
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2017, 08:58:28 PM »

Sure, sorry.

I use FSX with Acceleration Pack and Windows 7
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39322



WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2017, 09:02:33 PM »

I use FSX with Acceleration Pack and Windows 7

Then you should disable PHLI from the Scenery Library AND restart FSX.
Logged

flyblueskies
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2019, 01:19:19 PM »

I use FSX with Acceleration Pack and Windows 7

Then you should disable PHLI from the Scenery Library AND restart FSX.

Good morning Umberto,

I see the same exact issue on P3DV4.4. I also use FTX Global, FTX Vector, and FTX NA Land Class. You mention disabling PHLI depends on the simulator...would you let me know how I would disable PHLI in P3DV4.4?

NOTE: I have already found and disabled:

ADE_FTX_FTXG_PHLI.BGL.OFF
ADE_FTX_FTXG_PHLI_CVX.bgl.OFF
FTX_FTXG_PHLI_objects.bgl.OFF

located in: E:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\ORBX\FTX_GLOBAL\FTX_FTXG_AIRPORTS\Scenery

I'm not using any other third party mesh.

Would you provide a screenshot or two showing how this should look? Especially at runway 35 (?) where the light house is?
Logged
flyblueskies
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #9 on: April 01, 2019, 04:04:07 PM »

I'm sorry... I misunderstood the original post


I want to keep the FSDT version of PHLI, but solve the mesh issue
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39322



WWW
« Reply #10 on: April 02, 2019, 12:28:02 PM »

You said you have "the same exact issue", which means you do see the same plateau effect as show by the OP in his screenshot ?
Logged

flyblueskies
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2019, 12:36:04 PM »

Thank you Umberto,

Yes, I see the same plateau as shown in his screen shots on the first post. I also noticed that I have three alt adjustment files in the World Scenery folder called:

FSDT_PHOG_ALT.BGL
FSDT_PHKO_ALT.BGL
FSDT_PHNL_ALT.BGL

But there is none for PHLI. Of course, I am not sure if there is supposed to be one...but if there is one available, I would guess it would help move the airport down.
Logged
flyblueskies
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #12 on: April 04, 2019, 03:26:51 AM »

I've installed the hawaii-photoreal sceneries and it looks very good with FSDT PHLI. The mesh is not perfect as the airport still sits a little high. Of course, I know this is not a FSDT issue but a mesh issue. Anyway, without adding any kind of modification files to correct the mismatch, I think it is about as good as it is going to get.

I hope this is OK to post, but if anyone is interested in installing the hawaii-photoreal scenery, then here's what I did to combine the two sets of scenery together:

In the "...\Addon Manager\FsDreamTeam\PHLI\scenery" folder, I turned off this file:

PHLI_Terrain.bgl.OFF

This allows the hawaii-photoreal inland water to display as P3D water (the water mask is there) instead of the (correct color) green water.

In the "...\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Addon Scenery\FSJ - Hawaii Photoreal Vol. 1 - Niihau, Kauai & Oahu v.0.99\scenery" folder, I turned off these files:

PHLI.bgl.off
PHLI_AG.bgl.OFF

With these adjustments, the combined scenery looks good. I hope this helps someone...
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!