FSDreamTeam forum
November 27, 2020, 05:15:08 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: No parking for 747/777 that I could find.  (Read 4077 times)
mikjet
Newbie
*
Posts: 11


« on: June 20, 2017, 08:37:27 PM »

I am trying to initiate a flight from KCLT with a 777, but can't find any spaces big enough the 777, tried most of them, unable to find one big enough for GSX to work.  The spaces are also labeled funky, all GA medium.   Anyone else able to park their 777 anywhere on this airport?    Looks amazing, but unusable for heavies...for now at least.

Maybe I am missing something...I'll keep looking.    

Update:  went gate by gate -  I could not find a single heavy parking space at CLT at all.   This is a major airport with A346 and other heavies landing and departing from it.  How was that overlooked?    

regards,

Michel.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2017, 04:57:14 AM by mikjet » Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 40115



WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2017, 11:58:14 AM »

Update:  went gate by gate -  I could not find a single heavy parking space at CLT at all.

That's not correct. There are 2 Gates, D11 and D12, that have a 65.0 meters wingspan and, since the 777 has a wingspan from 60.0 to 64.8 (depending on the version), they can surely go there, which is where they go in real life.

Also, there are a couple of large enough parkings in the Apron too.
Logged

mikjet
Newbie
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2017, 04:50:41 AM »

was briefly excited to see your message and rushed to try gates D11 and D12, sadly, not working.   Still getting GSX message that gates too small for 777 and no services available.

Michel.

Logged
Dave_YVR
Beta tester
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 692


« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2017, 06:44:40 AM »

 What 777 are you trying to fit in there? The PMDG machine has a slightly shorter than real life wingspan of 205 feet vs 212 feet of the real 200LR/F or 300ER. Check your aircraft.cfg and find out what the wing_span =  says.
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 40115



WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2017, 11:01:36 AM »

Quote from: mikjet link=topic=16034.msg115022#msg115022 date=1498099841Still getting GSX message that gates too small for 777 and no services available.[/quote

I referred to the real life 777, which in the larger variation has a wingspan of 64.8 mt., which means it's not possible that GSX would give you a "too small parking" warning on D11/D12, since the wingspan accepted there is 65.0 mt.

Of course, you can use the GSX customization page, and click the airplane icon, which will read the wingspan from the aircraft.cfg file you are currently flying.
Logged

Jetzuri
Newbie
*
Posts: 24


« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2017, 06:09:59 PM »

Is the "too small" message related to the fact that GSX calls D11 and D12 RAMP GA MEDIUM? I've changed mine to GATE HEAVY and now no longer have the "too small" problem.

Could I suggest that FSDT make those changes so we don't vacate after landing unable to find parking for a 747? KMEM has the same issue, all are too small but surely there must be a few available for heavies?
Logged

Regards,

Alan
Dave_YVR
Beta tester
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 692


« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2017, 07:24:51 PM »

 The Title of the parking spot plays no part in what will fit in there, it goes by Wingspan.

 Umberto I just checked the airport file from a freshly downloaded and installed CLT and there are NO spots at the terminal large enough for a 777. D11 is 18.6m and D12 is 21.8. The largest spot at the terminal in the airport file is D13 at 25.4.

 Simple enough for anyone to adjust themselves really, it only takes a couple mins and is then done the way you want it. Take control of your sim.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2017, 08:07:40 PM by Dave_YVR » Logged
Jetzuri
Newbie
*
Posts: 24


« Reply #7 on: June 22, 2017, 08:34:27 PM »

The gate already had a 65m wingspan limit and the aircraft.cfg says 64.44m, so accordingly GSX should offer me those stands. It didn't.

I changed D11 and D12 to GATE HEAVY and now GSX does. Problem solved.
Logged

Regards,

Alan
Dave_YVR
Beta tester
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 692


« Reply #8 on: June 22, 2017, 08:41:43 PM »


I changed D11 and D12 to GATE HEAVY and now GSX does. Problem solved.

 Just keep in mind that the problem is solved NOT because you changed the type to a Gate Heavy. It's because when changing it to a heavy gate it simply changed the radius to something bigger than 33m. By using a GATE you will also introduce default airport vehicles which will interfere and clutter the ramp. By leaving the spot as medium parking but changing the size to 33 or larger will fix it as well and not bring in extra unwanted vehicles on the ramp.
Logged
Jetzuri
Newbie
*
Posts: 24


« Reply #9 on: June 22, 2017, 08:45:48 PM »

The size was already set at 65m. GSX still said "too small". Now it doesn't. It is still set at 65m.

I don't use default airport vehicles so that's just fine thanks. What I wasn't happy with was the fact that the GSX dropdown said ALL terminal gates (including D11 and D12) were too small.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2017, 09:04:48 PM by Jetzuri » Logged

Regards,

Alan
Dave_YVR
Beta tester
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 692


« Reply #10 on: June 22, 2017, 09:17:03 PM »

The size was already set at 65m. GSX still said "too small". Now it doesn't. It is still set at 65m.

I don't use default airport vehicles so that's just fine thanks. What I wasn't happy with was the fact that the GSX dropdown said ALL terminal gates (including D11 and D12) were too small.

 The size in the airport file wasn't 65m, if it was you would have been able to park there in an A380 or larger if you had one. Don't confuse GSX settings to those of the ADE/AFX file.
Logged
Jetzuri
Newbie
*
Posts: 24


« Reply #11 on: June 22, 2017, 09:32:20 PM »

I haven't looked at the airport file.

In GSX "customize airport positions", using the KCLT_FSDT.BGL AFCAD, the "Max allowed wingspan" for D11 is (and was) set at 65.00m.

However, when choosing a gate from the GSX gate selection dropdown, D11 was "too small".
Logged

Regards,

Alan
Dave_YVR
Beta tester
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 692


« Reply #12 on: June 22, 2017, 10:32:11 PM »

Gotcha, I use ADE to edit the actual airport file which is where the parking is located. That way I can add and also customize as many spots as I need for AI etc.
Logged
A350XWB
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #13 on: June 23, 2017, 08:46:42 AM »

I prefer to spawn on active runway, use gsx to find the gate and just warp to there. This also helps if I want to park in particular terminal.
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 40115



WWW
« Reply #14 on: June 23, 2017, 12:56:48 PM »

Umberto I just checked the airport file from a freshly downloaded and installed CLT and there are NO spots at the terminal large enough for a 777. D11 is 18.6m and D12 is 21.8. The largest spot at the terminal in the airport file is D13 at 25.4.

The parking size int the AFCAD is not relevant, if there's a GSX customization file, which will take precedence. And, the GSX customization file we provided with the scenery (kclt-fsdt.ini), list a wingspan of 65.0 meters, so that's the only parameter that counts.
Logged

Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!