FSDreamTeam forum
June 02, 2020, 12:08:18 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Invalid Runway Surface Specified  (Read 6890 times)
lealex84
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« on: November 11, 2015, 02:09:57 PM »

Hi.

I have this error everytime I close Prepar3d V3 "Content errors have been detected. See the log: C:\Users..........\ContentErrorLog.txt

And in ContentErrorLog.txt I have :

[error.0]
error= Invalid Runway Surface Specified
[error.1]
error= Invalid Runway Surface Specified
...
...
[error.906]
error= Invalid Runway Surface Specified

It happens after install of FSDT Geneva, last version and didn't happens when Geneva is uninstalled.

I'm on P3D V3 clean install, just with Ftx Global et OpenLC europe.

Thanks
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 38695



WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2015, 05:10:32 PM »

The error message is probably wrong.

There are no invalid runway surface defined in Geneva. There's an "unusual" runway surface used for one of the runways, which is grass, which is correct, since there is a grass runway, and it's a 100% legal runway surface to use, as defined in the SDK, and it it were wrong, the BGL compiler would have flagged it.

You can disable the error report, by unchecking the "Content Error Logging" in the General area of the Settings. I think this feature was in fact supposed to be off by default, it might have slipped away in the final release by mistake, since it's more useful to developers to test their products (and in this case, the scenery is 100% correct), and it might potentially have some effect on performances.
Logged

lealex84
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2015, 11:50:51 PM »

The error message is probably wrong.

There are no invalid runway surface defined in Geneva. There's an "unusual" runway surface used for one of the runways, which is grass, which is correct, since there is a grass runway, and it's a 100% legal runway surface to use, as defined in the SDK, and it it were wrong, the BGL compiler would have flagged it.

You can disable the error report, by unchecking the "Content Error Logging" in the General area of the Settings. I think this feature was in fact supposed to be off by default, it might have slipped away in the final release by mistake, since it's more useful to developers to test their products (and in this case, the scenery is 100% correct), and it might potentially have some effect on performances.

What means "and it might potentially have some effect on performances" Huh

Bad performances if I use FSDT Geneva ?
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 38695



WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2015, 09:21:43 AM »

What means "and it might potentially have some effect on performances" Huh

Bad performances if I use FSDT Geneva ?

The very act of logging and finding errors, which means keeping a log file open AND checking for them, even when none are found, will surely use some extra CPU time and disk activity *everywhere*, not just at FSDT Geneva. That's why this option should be enable only by developers. FSX has a similar debug option too, but it's off by default and must be enabled manually in the FSX.CFG, but it's not normally used by anyone except developers testing a scenery.

You are mislead thinking this is an "FSDT Geneva" problem, because you see it there and it goes away when you install it but, as I've said, THAT specific error is bogus. The runway surfaces at FSDT Geneva are 100% correct and SDK legal so, in this case, not only the message is unnecessary for you, it also wrong, at least according to the P3D SDK.

Several DEFAULT P3D airplanes generates errors, so you'll see this everywhere if you use them regardless if Geneva is installed or not.
Logged

lealex84
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2015, 06:01:12 PM »


Ok thanks.

I will disable the error report in general settings.

I reinstall P3D yesterday and delete all files to test again with a full clean install, but still same problem after install Geneva.

Thanks for your answer !
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!