FSDreamTeam forum
October 22, 2018, 12:58:37 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PHNL Texture resizer  (Read 9275 times)
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 32030



WWW
« on: January 25, 2010, 05:43:57 PM »

Here's a batch file that will resize all the biggest textures at PHNL to 512x512 instead of the default 1024x1024, that should improve the stuttering, because VRAM memory requirements are now 4x less

Unzip the file in the following folder

fs9\fsdreamteam\PHNL\texture

And run the resize.bat program. At the end of the process, you'll see that all the 1MB textures are now about 300K each. If you want to go back to the original hires textures, just reinstall the scenery.

* phnl_texture_resize.zip (780.74 KB - downloaded 1272 times.)
Logged

Menemeth
Newbie
*
Posts: 36



« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2010, 06:06:35 PM »

If you want to go back to the original hires textures, just reinstall the scenery.

Thank You!  Smiley But what I did was rar'd the entire PHNL\texture folder (49.51MB), then ran the .bat file. That way if the enduser doesn't like it, he/she can just unrar the textures back into its respective folder, rather than reinstalling the entire progie.  Wink
Logged

felixthreeone
Newbie
*
Posts: 36


« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2010, 08:17:54 PM »

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!!!  Cheesy
Logged
M-Sauce
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 55


« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2010, 09:35:28 PM »

Thanks for this, will check it out.

 Smiley
Logged
Kelleymoe
Newbie
*
Posts: 47


« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2010, 01:10:07 AM »

Thank you very much! 

Mike Franks
Logged
M-Sauce
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 55


« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2010, 10:14:18 AM »

Would it be possible to get one for KORD? I've asked in that forum many times but never got a reply.

 Smiley
Logged
Tom C
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 73


« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2010, 10:20:58 AM »

Would it be possible to get one for KORD? I've asked in that forum many times but never got a reply.

 Smiley
Would the same program not work for this?
Logged

Regards.

Tom C.
TMetzinger
Newbie
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2010, 05:39:22 AM »

No, because the batch file targets specific textures.
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 32030



WWW
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2010, 12:51:39 PM »

Would this be of help for the stutters i get in FSX for the same scenery?

As was explained, many times already, the issue with loading textures is very specific to FS9. FSX doesn't have that many issues loading large number of textures, because it's far more efficent in multithreading.

Of course, providing you *have* a multi-core machine. If you had a single core, then yes, a texture resizer might be useful in FSX as well.

In any case, you can TEST if your stutters are related to the textures size: just LOWER you Max Texture size slider one notch below maximum, and this will force ALL textures in the sim to be at 512x512, which is the same of what the resizer does.

Also, there are plenty of discussions about ways to control stuttering, for example here:

http://www.fsdreamteam.com/forum/index.php?topic=2710.0

As suggested there, you can try with different Anti-pop slider settings, and see what difference makes on your system. As already explained, the higher setting should improve stuttering, at a cost of a general lower frame rate. The default setting will probably have the best frame rate, but also much changes for stutters. Basically, more powerful systems can afford higher settings.

And of course, you just can't have it all: if you want to use a complex airport scenery, if your system can't cope with all, you *have* to lower other settings, like AI density, autogen, etc.
Logged

Saturn_29
Newbie
*
Posts: 23


« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2010, 11:48:23 PM »

I have all of your scenery (except Zurich) and this was the first time I installed the texture resizer. I don't know why I didn't do this earlier with all my FSDT sceneries! At PHNL I was getting frame rates in the low 30's with stuttering. With the texture resizer my frames went up to the upper 50's to low 60's and no more stutters! Plus the scenery itself does not look any different!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!