Author Topic: Cannot make VOR2 show on F/A 18 Hornet HUD.  (Read 5533 times)

Tregarth

Cannot make VOR2 show on F/A 18 Hornet HUD.
« on: May 28, 2015, 05:53:33 pm »
At one time I could make the VOR2 show on the Hornet HUD as a small arrow pointing towards the VOR  I have tried to use the TCN button, entered the VOR/DME frequency, clicked Enter but the frequency display still shows "OF" and nothing shows on the HSI either.  I can make the NDB pointer show on the HSI by using BCN button but not the VOR.

Would someone please remind me of how I can make the VOR arrow appear in the HUD?

Thank you,

Tregarth

PhantomTweak

Re: Cannot make VOR2 show on F/A 18 Hornet HUD.
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2015, 06:34:38 pm »
I am far from an expert on this subject, but the guy that is. Virtuali, wrote a thread, stickied near the top of this forum about how the nav system and the HUD works. radio system, too. Might want to take a look through it. The Handbook PDF file included with the bird is awful helpful too.
I know that the HSI will display either TACAN or ILS (not both), and NDB (beacon) if you plug it in to the UFC panel. The HSI must have either TCN or or ILS mode selected on the upper left soft-buttons. The direction of the chosen TACAN or ILS transmitter will display as a triangle on the outer part of the compass ring, if it's in range of course. Additionally, the HSI will display all the TACANs, Beacons, Intersections, and/or Airports (any one of the above or all of them), within the HSI's current range setting (Top row of buttons, canter), by selecting them with the soft button on the bottom row, far left button.