FSDreamTeam forum
September 29, 2020, 02:08:54 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: KDFW FSX Crash **SOLVED**  (Read 3114 times)
AlanJ
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


« on: January 18, 2015, 07:58:57 PM »

Hello gents i've got a problem, i purchased KDFW yesterday and can't get it to work, the FSX loading screen starts but then crashes with no error warnings. If i uninstall KDFW FSX will again start as normal. I searched the forum before posting for help, so i have tried installing with AV turned off and with bglmanx.dll and couatl.exe excluded and rebooted windows several times but nothing works. The FS2004 version works fine but i purposely wanted the FSX version. I do try to work problems out myself but this has me stumped, this is my first FSDT FSX purchase but i have a few for FS2004 so i know how good your products are  Smiley . I hope someone can come up with an answer to my problem. Thanks.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2015, 11:24:39 AM by virtuali » Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39652



WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2015, 12:05:46 PM »

I searched the forum before posting for help, so i have tried installing with AV turned off and with bglmanx.dll and couatl.exe excluded and rebooted windows several times but nothing works.

Of course nothing works, none of the solutions related to antivirus, etc, have anything to with the problem you are reporting, which is FSX quitting on start without error message.

There's a sticky thread on the forum, instead, with the only solution that works:

http://www.fsdreamteam.com/forum/index.php/topic,10489.0.html
Logged

AlanJ
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2015, 03:54:37 PM »

What do you mean by "of course nothing works" as if i'm supposed to obviously know this? The link is not very helpful as it doesn't mention if i'm supposed to uninstall the scenery then reinstall (which i did a few times anyway and then added the updated stand alone addon manager), or reinstall over the first scenery without again installing the addon manager and couatl. I asked for help nicely and got a very abrupt and seemingly annoyed reply but thanks for it anyway.
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39652



WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2015, 04:05:05 PM »

What do you mean by "of course nothing works" as if i'm supposed to obviously know this?

You said you searched on the forum, and none of the forum threads about antivirus, ever relates to your problem, which is FSX quitting to Desktop with no errors.

The forum threads you found about the antivirus, were only related to the software modules not running, which results in no menus under the FSX "Addons" menu and no buildings in the scenery, but with FSX otherwise running normally.

Quote
The link is not very helpful as it doesn't mention if i'm supposed to uninstall the scenery then reinstall (which i did a few times anyway and then added the updated stand alone addon manager), or reinstall over the first scenery without again installing the addon manager and couatl. I asked for help nicely and got a very abrupt and seemingly annoyed reply but thanks for it anyway.

The link is very helpful, short, precise and to the point. If it doesn't mention if you are supposed to uninstall first, it's because you don't have to, or it doesn't make any difference if yo do. If you had to uninstall first, or if it made any difference if you did or not, the link would have said so.

And, the link doesn't say JUST that, the most important part of the two points solution was THIS one:

Quote
- If this doesn't fix your issues, or you never had any scenery from Earth simulations, please contact me in private with a Teamviewer session ID and password because I really need to check your system with it. Teamviewer can be downloaded for free here:

http://www.teamviewer.com

I haven't got any private messages from you so, but you replied here. Are you sure you read that post carefully enough ? Awaiting for your PM now.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2015, 04:06:43 PM by virtuali » Logged

AlanJ
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2015, 06:33:02 PM »

Installed KDFW, FSX Crash, installed GSX, FSX Crash, installed stand alone addon manager, FSX Crash. Guess i've thrown away good money because it shouldn't be this difficult to get something to work!
Logged
virtuali
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 39652



WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2015, 07:32:41 PM »

Installed KDFW, FSX Crash, installed GSX, FSX Crash, installed stand alone addon manager, FSX Crash. Guess i've thrown away good money because it shouldn't be this difficult to get something to work!

You don't seem to understand, really. The problem IS NOT caused by the GSX or KDFW. The problem is caused by something ELSE you installed in your FSX, and of course the SOLUTION is here:

Quote
If this doesn't fix your issues, or you never had any scenery from Earth simulations, please contact me in private with a Teamviewer session ID and password because I really need to check your system with it. Teamviewer can be downloaded for free here:

http://www.teamviewer.com

Once we'll connect, you will understand why THIS specific issue MUST be dealt with privately. Again, I still haven't received any private message to arrange the Teamviewer session, yet you posted here AGAIN...

Awaiting your PM about the Teamviewer session... PM means "Personal Message", the little icon under my avatar on the forum.
Logged

AlanJ
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2015, 11:15:22 AM »

This issue has now been resolved and KDFW works perfectly. I apologise to virtuali for any misunderstanding as this was entirely my fault for being too stupid to follow the instructions in the link correctly. On my part this was a case of "beer in, brains out".
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!