FSDreamTeam forum

Developer's Backdoor => Chicago O'Hare V2 => Topic started by: Alessandro on August 03, 2019, 01:01:48 AM



Title: KORD V2
Post by: Alessandro on August 03, 2019, 01:01:48 AM
A small video of the current KORD V2 used as a demo for PBR materials on Prepar3d, and a video showing the seasonal textures and interiors of Terminal C. For release only a few tests yet. ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DtCAHM7xCts http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7t1rN50355c


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on August 03, 2019, 02:17:27 AM
And yes, we DO have a female McDonald worker as well, since we have two McDonalds inside T1C, and we all are for equal opportunities...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E-eK2UmZ3XU


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on August 03, 2019, 02:36:23 AM
Now, before anybody asks:

- The whole internal of the terminal, is not loaded normally. In order to trigger a load, you must cross the inside perimeter (usually on foot, in Avatar mode), and only then the detailed interior will be loaded. Until then, it will just sit on the disk, not taking away any processing whatsoever. In normal use, inside the airplane, a way less detailed version of the interior will be seen instead.

- We are still working on some final optimizations, to allow passengers to be seen from the outside, but not when flying or taxing not particularly close to the terminal, and we'll have an option to disable the passengers with the usual YouControl menu, not requiring a restart.

- There are dozen of working display, which shows AI information in realtime. In this video, we use UT Live, so there's a small issue of not seeing the correct time of Departure or Arrival, since UT Live doesn't use a completely standard system of AI schedules and don't make that info available to other add-ons. But other kind of traffic, which use the standard schedule system, will show the correct departure/arrival times as well.

- The displays use the Render To Texture system in DirectX so, even if there are dozen of displays, they affect fps just like one panel.

- The scenery is made entirely in PBR, and it's compiled 100% using the P3D4.5 SDK (it will still work with 4.4 though, but not less than that). There isn't a SINGLE file made for FSX. The only thing you see there which work on FSX too are...the GSX passengers.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: tangjuice81 on August 03, 2019, 06:52:25 AM
Outstanding work guys. Only thing I dislike is some of the GSX labels which don't represent the real airlines. Otherwise great work.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on August 03, 2019, 08:18:15 AM
Outstanding work guys. Only thing I dislike is some of the GSX labels which don't represent the real airlines. Otherwise great work.

Which GSX labels ?


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: Dimon on August 03, 2019, 09:15:09 PM
Quick question - is PBR mode the only mode OR we'll have a chance to opt-out for non-PBR? Many developers (Imaginesim and Simwings) mention that there are problems in SDK and some sceneries have issues with ghost objects. Oliver Pabst from Aerosoft clearly blamed LM. Just wondering if FSDT avoided it.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: paulyg123 on August 03, 2019, 10:53:01 PM
Nice - do you have the phone number of that McDonald girl?
Can't wait for KORD to be released.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: villaloha on August 04, 2019, 10:23:23 PM
OMG!! Fantastic job!! I couldn't imagine how much time you have spent on working this speechless scenery!!

Have you tested with Megasceneryearth compatible?


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on August 06, 2019, 02:21:32 AM
Quick question - is PBR mode the only mode OR we'll have a chance to opt-out for non-PBR? Many developers (Imaginesim and Simwings) mention that there are problems in SDK and some sceneries have issues with ghost objects. Oliver Pabst from Aerosoft clearly blamed LM. Just wondering if FSDT avoided it.

There's no reason for not using PBR in this scenery.

Yes, we are obviously fully aware of the raised objects bug in P3D 4.5 which happens only in PBR but, we are not affected by it thanks ( as usual ) to our Couatl engine, which creates objects dynamically, but the bug happens only with standard .BGLs.

However, since with this scenery we are trying to use the standard .BGL for as much as possible, *after* LM will release fix for that problem, we can easily switch back the affected objects to the .BGL format again.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: sparky23177 on August 09, 2019, 01:30:34 AM
My therapist says to be patient. He's no help.

Please soon :)

Peter


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: paulyg123 on August 09, 2019, 11:46:22 PM
I feel your pain Sparky.  My default KORD is bad.  This FSDT version will really be a great add-on.  I am checking every day now - but I have a feeling it is still months away.



Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: Ifikratis on August 12, 2019, 01:26:39 AM
Any hint of whether the release has been postponed?


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on August 12, 2019, 10:12:00 PM
We confirmed multiple times, it will be released in August.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: paulyg123 on August 14, 2019, 12:27:24 AM
Just a question on the KORD release:
Whenever it is released, will it show up on the main FSDT opening page?  Or will I need to search for the release on subsequent web pages?  Right now that opening is dedicated to GSX.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on August 14, 2019, 12:29:07 AM
Whenever it is released, will it show up on the main FSDT opening page?

Of course it will but, we'll send news all over the internet so, don't worry about missing it.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: jg7xman on August 18, 2019, 05:06:45 AM
I can't wait!


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: infiniteq on August 21, 2019, 01:28:01 AM

- There are dozen of working display, which shows AI information in realtime. In this video, we use UT Live, so there's a small issue of not seeing the correct time of Departure or Arrival, since UT Live doesn't use a completely standard system of AI schedules and don't make that info available to other add-ons. But other kind of traffic, which use the standard schedule system, will show the correct departure/arrival times as well.


virtuali, I wanted to ask -- does this mean these displays will work with AIG traffic?


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on August 21, 2019, 05:03:27 PM
virtuali, I wanted to ask -- does this mean these displays will work with AIG traffic?

They will work with any AI. There are just a few small difference, depending how AI are generated:

- With UT Live, which creates traffic on the fly, so it has its own internal database of flights which is not accessible to 3rd parties, the AI flight plan is sent not too long before the AI starts, and this result in the ETD not being displayed. Also, before a flight plan is sent, the AI will be indicated as "Sleeping", since it's just positioned there, without knowing where it will go.

- With almost every other kind of Traffic package, which use the standard Traffic.bgl file format, the schedule is always known to the sim, so in this case the Destination and ETD will always be shown, both on the Gate information panels on the outside, and on the AI Trafficboard panels in the Terminal interior.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: gbgray2 on August 22, 2019, 02:35:18 AM
Please Please include crosswind AFCAD files that will ulitize ORD runways at the same time


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: villaloha on August 22, 2019, 07:25:15 PM
Awesome that it has finally been released! GOOD JOB!! Should I delete the old ORD and install the new ones?


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: passicfc on August 22, 2019, 09:23:06 PM
hey,
great work with KORDV2 but i have a problem some objects( most of them are the roofobjects) of the international terminal are on an high attitude like 100feet above the terminal in the air.
so any solutions for now or am i the only one with these problem?


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on August 22, 2019, 09:44:02 PM
great work with KORDV2 but i have a problem some objects( most of them are the roofobjects) of the international terminal are on an high attitude like 100feet above the terminal in the air. so any solutions for now or am i the only one with these problem?

If you have something from OrbX, be sure you enable KORD on their AEC thing.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: paulyg123 on August 23, 2019, 12:28:19 AM
Excellent work. KORD looks great.   I have all your Products in North America.
I have 1 question.  I get a message that I lost SODE connection.  What is SODE? and why do I need that connection?  or how do I re-connect it?


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: Captain Kevin on August 23, 2019, 02:02:48 AM
Excellent work. KORD looks great.   I have all your Products in North America.
I have 1 question.  I get a message that I lost SODE connection.  What is SODE? and why do I need that connection?  or how do I re-connect it?
Sim Object Design Engine. It's basically what's running the jetways. As far as re-connecting, two ways. First, hit Alt, then under the Add-on menu (I think), you should see a menu for SODE. If you do, just restart it, and it should solve it. If it has disappeared for some reason (this can also happen), you'll have to restart the simulator.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: bmckay on August 23, 2019, 03:49:47 AM
It looks great!

On approach I noticed some terminal buildings were floating in the air. I tried to mes around with settings but nothing worked:
https://imgur.com/gVN6SwR

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Brendan


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: mexusa12 on August 23, 2019, 05:20:12 AM
I don't have any jetways I have DRZEWIECKI DESIGN - CHICAGO AIRPORTS but I cancel KORD  so I can keep the other 2  but no luck any ideas?


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: Beat578 on August 23, 2019, 07:10:08 AM
It looks great!

On approach I noticed some terminal buildings were floating in the air. I tried to mes around with settings but nothing worked:
https://imgur.com/gVN6SwR

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Brendan

Thats because of the ORBX Scenery. Go to the GSX Airport configuration and hit the small airplane icon, where it says "correct airport elevation" that should fix it.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: cirurgiao on August 23, 2019, 02:57:24 PM
Just a question before buying this awesome scenery.
I have KORD 2011 installed. Do I need to uninstall it before installing O'Hare v2 or can I just run installer and it will overwrite anything?
Tks


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on August 23, 2019, 03:39:57 PM
I have KORD 2011 installed. Do I need to uninstall it before installing O'Hare v2 or can I just run installer and it will overwrite anything?

Yes, and the KORD V2 installer will check that, and will ask to uninstall it first before proceeding.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: bmckay on August 23, 2019, 04:38:51 PM
I don't think so. I clicked that button and the altitude did not change. The floating objects are terminal buildings not GSX vehicles.

I remember LVFR's SCEL had a similar issue related to PBR implementation.

I did re-run Live Update and noticed KORD v2 files downloaded so perhaps that was the issue.

The floating objects only render on final approach after a long flight.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on August 23, 2019, 04:50:24 PM
I did re-run Live Update and noticed KORD v2 files downloaded so perhaps that was the issue.

No, it wasn't. We just added the missing red runway enter markers on hold short zones.

Quote
The floating objects only render on final approach after a long flight.

Them I'm afraid is the very well known bug of P3D 4.5, which in this case can only seen after a long flight. We *MIGHT* be able to fix it, because it affects only objects in .BGL file format but, for this scenery, we wanted to be as native as possible, and don't use too many Simobjects, which cause pauses when loaded or destroyed.

In our previous sceneries, we used Simobjects a lot, to bypass some limitations of the FSX SDK, but since it's not required anymore in this scenery, which is the first one that is made specifically for P3D4, there wasn't too much need to use them, since the P3D4 SDK give us lots of flexibility without having to use Simobjects, so we choose the smoother .BGL format for most of them.

This means, unfortunately, some of our objects will be affected by this 4.5 bug, which doesn't happen with 4.4. We DID use the Simobject format for SOME objects that we *know* they "ghosted" in the air, but apparently some of them cause a problem only after a long flight, but we would rather not going back to use Simobjects entirely, because it will affect the smoothness of the scenery, and create long pauses on loading it.

LM is fully aware of this problem, and I'm sure they'll release a fix for it soon enough.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: hjmx on August 23, 2019, 06:23:05 PM
I also get it when I directly load KORD with the default airplane.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on August 23, 2019, 06:36:51 PM
I also get it when I directly load KORD with the default airplane.

How much free VRAM you have ? It's possible that, with too high settings and VRAM close to exhaustion (or already exhausted), the problem might happen sooner, not just at the end of a flight. You can check your available VRAM using the default Performance monitor in the Windows Task Manager, and going to the GPU page.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: jonesbr on August 23, 2019, 07:19:25 PM
I did a flight from KMCI to KORD and had the floating issue, I wouldn't classify it as a "long flight". If changing the roof back to simobjects fixes it. I would love that until LM fixes the bug. No other issues to report, but a floating roof on final really does bug me.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on August 23, 2019, 11:03:33 PM
I did a flight from KMCI to KORD and had the floating issue, I wouldn't classify it as a "long flight". If changing the roof back to simobjects fixes it. I would love that until LM fixes the bug. No other issues to report, but a floating roof on final really does bug me.

We cannot just change the roof to a Simobject and, it's not as if the issue happens to everybody to the same object. Some users see some objects floating, other users see entirely different objects floating so, to be sure of fixing every possible issue, we would have to use Simobject for *everything*, but we didn't wanted to give a wrong initial impression this was another kind of KMEM or KCLT, with long loading pauses because they are all almost entirely made with Simobjects.

Could you please check how's your VRAM usage when you see the floating stuff ? Maybe if we could establish it happens when there not much VRAM freee, it might be reduced by acting on settings.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: bmckay on August 24, 2019, 06:29:11 PM
It happened again on a short flight from KIAD.

I was using about 5.5 of 8 GB of VRAM.

It seems like others are having this issue. I don't mean to be a pain but if there is a known fix why wouldn't you make it? This problem makes a $32 add-on basically unusable. I held off purchasing DD's Chicago airports specifically for this and I'm beginning to regret my decision.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on August 24, 2019, 06:30:06 PM
It happened again on a short flight from KIAD.

Have you installed the today's fix ?


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: bmckay on August 24, 2019, 06:37:54 PM
I have not but now I feel like I jerk  :-\

I will give it a shot. Thank you Umberto for listening to us!


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: jonesbr on August 25, 2019, 07:39:00 AM
New fix works great! No floating and working dynamic lighting! Thanks guys!

https://i.imgur.com/gi6XH0U.jpg (https://i.imgur.com/gi6XH0U.jpg)


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: cirurgiao on August 26, 2019, 12:00:46 AM
Maybe a dumb question but where can I get "today's fix"?
Tks


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on August 26, 2019, 01:52:56 PM
New fix works great! No floating and working dynamic lighting! Thanks guys!

Well, we haven't done anything to the dynamic lights, they were always worked. However, your screenshot looks very dark, have you changed the default HDR settings or are you using a Shader mod ?


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on August 26, 2019, 01:54:00 PM
Maybe a dumb question but where can I get "today's fix"?

The FSDT Live Update, of course, the icon with that name on your Desktop.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: cirurgiao on August 26, 2019, 04:09:02 PM
Sorry, a dumb question no doubt :(


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: DAL777-232 on August 29, 2019, 09:57:55 PM
You don't know how much I wish that the update for KORD would work on FSX. Or how much I wished that KORD was updated to 2019


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on August 30, 2019, 11:35:00 AM
You don't know how much I wish that the update for KORD would work on FSX. Or how much I wished that KORD was updated to 2019

FSX was already falling in usage before the announcement of MSFS 2020, but after that, it's even more clear how correct was our decision to stop making any new scenery for FSX. Making the KORD V2 for FSX would be a massive undertaking, because the scenery was designed right from the start to be P3D4-only and PBR-only, all work that would be wasted the moment MS will release the next Flight Simulator ( which will fully PBR too, since no modern game engine supports any other mode today ), because the few FSX users that haven't moved to P3D4 or X-Plane, would surely go to the new Flight Simulator.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: enzoaugusto on September 02, 2019, 03:27:53 PM
Good morning, I bought the previous version and now the new one, I was disappointed with the winter texture, there is not, the whole white city and the airport with the summer texture, do you intend to update the scenery for winter? :'(


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: rjlfry on September 02, 2019, 07:25:53 PM
You don't have winter at KORD.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/154944674@N05/48666511287/in/dateposted-public/

https://www.flickr.com/photos/154944674@N05/48666511062/in/dateposted-public/


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on September 02, 2019, 10:34:08 PM
Good morning, I bought the previous version and now the new one, I was disappointed with the winter texture, there is not, the whole white city and the airport with the summer texture, do you intend to update the scenery for winter?

KORD has 4 seasons, plus heavy winter if it's snowing so no, you are supposed to see very different colors over the year.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: enzoaugusto on September 03, 2019, 01:06:53 AM
Look how mine is! Winter and Summer ??? I noticed that the texture of the is corrected if it is snowing, when I put the sky clean it returns the summer texture even in winter


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: rjlfry on September 03, 2019, 09:51:18 AM
KORD January not snowing.
 https://www.flickr.com/photos/154944674@N05/48670083981/in/dateposted-public/

https://www.flickr.com/photos/154944674@N05/48669743763/in/dateposted-public/

https://www.flickr.com/photos/154944674@N05/48669743963/in/dateposted-public/

https://www.flickr.com/photos/154944674@N05/48669744593/in/dateposted-public/

Cloud be a shader issue on your system or textures even the scenery is not looking right for winter.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on September 03, 2019, 10:05:30 AM
Look how mine is! Winter and Summer ??? I noticed that the texture of the is corrected if it is snowing, when I put the sky clean it returns the summer texture even in winter

That's clearly not a "summer" texture in your screenshot, that's a winter texture, haven't you noticed the difference if you go to Summer ? The colors are entirely different. The problem is the surrounding Landclass, which *always* snowy, while KORD is properly depicting snow only if it's REALLY snowing, as you noticed.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: enzoaugusto on September 04, 2019, 02:41:53 AM
The first picture I put in summer and the second winter, I saw almost no difference, in winter there is snow at the airport even when it is not snowing.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: virtuali on September 08, 2019, 10:25:58 AM
The first picture I put in summer and the second winter, I saw almost no difference

But that's the point: the scenery doesn't look like that. Spring/Summer are green, your screenshots looks more like Winter and Fall, looking at the surrounding landclass.

Quote
in winter there is snow at the airport even when it is not snowing.

That's exactly the opposite of what you winter screenshot (the first one, the one you are assumed summer), which correctly shows no snow, because it's not snowing. Snow, in fact, will appear ONLY when snowing.


Title: Re: KORD V2
Post by: lerbech on September 16, 2019, 01:37:26 PM
Dear FSdreamteam.

I think it's a great scenery and absolutely an improvement. It looks good although I'm having some simmering here and there (mainly fences), but... not annoying. Likely a setting somewhere I have to find.

Again: After all a great scenery :).

Jan N