FSDreamTeam forum

Products Support => Charlotte KCLT Support FSX/P3D => Topic started by: AirBorne on December 26, 2018, 06:49:15 AM



Title: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: AirBorne on December 26, 2018, 06:49:15 AM
It's been several months since I don't fly to KCLT, and today as I arrived I couldn't use GSX nor the jetways. Any options I choose from the menu and nothing will happen, and even worse after that the menu itself will never show up again when requested. Have to restart CUatl but then again any option I choose nothing will ever happen.
Have already installed again the standalone addon manager to no avail. Have already installed again the KCLT scenery to no avail. As far as I have tested only happens here.
Don't know what to do other than that. Is this a known issue? How to solve it?
Thanks.


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: aimhawkx on December 27, 2018, 02:13:59 AM
Just purchased KCLT today, and its happening to me too :/


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: AirBorne on December 28, 2018, 07:52:18 AM
Hello Umberto, would you have any advice in this case? Thanks.


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: virtuali on December 28, 2018, 10:01:37 AM
It seems to be caused by some change in SODE 1.6.4. Reverting 1.6.3 fixes the problem: there must have been some change we are not aware of.


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: virtuali on January 04, 2019, 12:08:09 PM
We asked clarification to SODE developer, and the issue is caused by a new optimization that has been added to SODE 1.6.4 that, in order to speed up loading, will ignore FSDT folders that are not jetways, and it use the "FSDT_Jetway" and "FSDT_SODE_*" patterns. Since KCLT jetways are in a folder named "FSDT_KCLT_Jetway", they don't match those patterns, so SODE is ignoring them.

The solution is to rename this folder:

Addon Manager\Simobjects\Misc\FSDT_KCLT_Jetway

to be like this:

Addon Manager\Simobjects\Misc\FSDT_SODE_Jetway_KCLT

so it will match one of the patterns and won't be discarded by SODE.


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: bhorv67 on January 07, 2019, 06:42:53 AM
So following the folder name change.

I then ran Live update, and the KCLT_Jetway folder was recreated. Now there's both. Is that ok? The contents of those folders appear to be the same


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: virtuali on January 07, 2019, 11:47:36 AM
I then ran Live update, and the KCLT_Jetway folder was recreated.

Of course, since the Live Update hasn't been notified of this change: it will soon enough, but I wanted to post an immediate solution so you could use the scenery now, without waiting for the Live Update to be updated.

Quote
Now there's both. Is that ok? The contents of those folders appear to be the same

The old folder is now redundant, so you should remove it manually after performing a Live Update. This will of course no longer necessary, when we'll update the updater.


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: CaptKornDog on January 11, 2019, 06:29:29 AM
Thank you for this fix.


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: bhorv67 on January 17, 2019, 04:01:56 AM
I then ran Live update, and the KCLT_Jetway folder was recreated.

Of course, since the Live Update hasn't been notified of this change: it will soon enough, but I wanted to post an immediate solution so you could use the scenery now, without waiting for the Live Update to be updated.

Quote
Now there's both. Is that ok? The contents of those folders appear to be the same

The old folder is now redundant, so you should remove it manually after performing a Live Update. This will of course no longer necessary, when we'll update the updater.

Just checking that the updater is planned to be updated with this change? I just ran the updater this evening and it's still adding in the previous KCLT_Jetway folder.


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: virtuali on January 17, 2019, 06:44:01 PM
Just checking that the updater is planned to be updated with this change?

That's what I said in my previous message: this will of course no longer necessary, when we'll update the updater.

Quote
I just ran the updater this evening and it's still adding in the previous KCLT_Jetway folder.

That's because we still haven't updated the updater. We are in the middle of a large update that we are testing right now, so we cannot publish anything until the testing of this update is done.


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: jordanal on April 15, 2019, 10:54:47 PM
Did this ever make into the updater?  I just had the exact same problem with KCLT and was quite stumped; which doesn't happen often.  Let's get this resolved once and for all, please.


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: virtuali on April 16, 2019, 05:06:09 PM
Did this ever make into the updater?  I just had the exact same problem with KCLT and was quite stumped; which doesn't happen often.  Let's get this resolved once and for all, please.

This has been solved a while ago, as I've said, the solution is to rename this folder:

Addon Manager\Simobjects\Misc\FSDT_KCLT_Jetway

to be like this:

Addon Manager\Simobjects\Misc\FSDT_SODE_Jetway_KCLT

Of course, the next version of the Live Update will do this automatically but, in the meantime, you can just do this manually and, since there hasn't been any updates in a while, you don't really have any reason to running the Live Update constantly.


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: xcc99 on April 28, 2019, 07:59:36 PM
So are you saying that by having a folder named "FSDT_Jetway" or "FSDT_SODE" I can add more jetways to work with in the configurator? Meaning that I can take some other SODE jetway from the SODE/SimObjects folder and use them in GSX2?


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: virtuali on April 29, 2019, 10:33:39 AM
So are you saying that by having a folder named "FSDT_Jetway" or "FSDT_SODE" I can add more jetways to work with in the configurator? Meaning that I can take some other SODE jetway from the SODE/SimObjects folder and use them in GSX2

The folder rename is required to prevent SODE to filter out jetways, but that doesn't also mean any SODE jetway would work with the GSX configurator, which supports only GSX/SODE jetways, not just any SODE jetway.


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: hontzt on May 07, 2019, 08:02:54 PM
This makes jetways completely disappear altogether.
I reloaded and restarted couatl, and rebuilt airport cache.

VR

Todd Hontz


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: hontzt on May 08, 2019, 12:30:33 AM
Good evening, disregard my post.  Now they reappeared.  Not sure what is going on.

VR
Todd Hontz


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: WestIandian86 on June 04, 2019, 05:20:25 PM
We asked clarification to SODE developer, and the issue is caused by a new optimization that has been added to SODE 1.6.4 that, in order to speed up loading, will ignore FSDT folders that are not jetways, and it use the "FSDT_Jetway" and "FSDT_SODE_*" patterns. Since KCLT jetways are in a folder named "FSDT_KCLT_Jetway", they don't match those patterns, so SODE is ignoring them.

The solution is to rename this folder:

Addon Manager\Simobjects\Misc\FSDT_KCLT_Jetway

to be like this:

Addon Manager\Simobjects\Misc\FSDT_SODE_Jetway_KCLT

so it will match one of the patterns and won't be discarded by SODE.


Greetings,

I have done this several times and still getting an error - it has now become very frustrating.

See attached the error log.


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: virtuali on June 04, 2019, 11:19:33 PM
I have done this several times and still getting an error - it has now become very frustrating.

Of course you don't see any changes by doing that: your error doesn't have ANYTHING to do with the issue reported here, which is SODE jetways not working due the name of their folder, which is not recognized by the current version of SODE.

Your error, instead, is caused by having made (or downloaded ) a GSX customzation file for KCLT which was made with a very early version of GSX L2 which had a bug in the logo selection logic. We fixed the problem almost immediately but, your old customization file should be removed.

The issue, with the solution, was already discussed here:

http://www.fsdreamteam.com/forum/index.php/topic,20962.msg142992.html#msg142992

and here:

http://www.fsdreamteam.com/forum/index.php/topic,20726.msg141619.html#msg141619



Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: WestIandian86 on June 05, 2019, 06:53:35 AM
Sir,

Thanks for that, but I do not have any other mods for the CLT. I actually did a re-write of the latest version of the CLT installer, and the issue remains the same. While every other ini file is written here %APPDATA%\Virtuali\GSX\, the CLT is written here D:\Program Files\Addon Manager\Fsdreamteam\KCLT\scenery

So The other two links you sent did not assist me as I will still having the issue..

However, after doing a reinstall to over-write and the work-around you have here http://www.fsdreamteam.com/forum/index.php/topic,20048.0.html, I was able to use the airport again.

Thank you.


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: virtuali on June 05, 2019, 08:26:17 AM
While every other ini file is written here %APPDATA%\Virtuali\GSX\, the CLT is written here D:\Program Files\Addon Manager\Fsdreamteam\KCLT\scenery

This is of course normal, since that's the .INI file we provide for KCLT. But it doesn't contain any jetways. The %APPDATA% location is for files you make or download.

Quote
however, after doing a reinstall to over-write and the work-around you have here http://www.fsdreamteam.com/forum/index.php/topic,20048.0.html, I was able to use the airport again

I said to check your customizations folder, because you said renaming the folder didn't help. Of course you must ALSO rename the folder, if you have SODE 1.6.4.


Title: Re: GSX not working only in KCLT
Post by: WestIandian86 on June 05, 2019, 08:31:59 AM
Quote
I said to check your customizations folder, because you said renaming the folder didn't help. Of course you must ALSO rename the folder, if you have SODE 1.6.4.

Which I did after doing the re-write of the original files; didn't make or download any files for KCLT.

Thanks again.