FSDreamTeam forum

Products Support => GSX Support FSX/P3D => Topic started by: virtuali on October 02, 2018, 11:17:52 AM



Title: Tutorial - Mass-replace jetways on a 3rd party airport in less than 4 minutes
Post by: virtuali on October 02, 2018, 11:17:52 AM
This new tutorial shows how to use the new "filter" button we added recently, which can be used to quickly select all parkings with a jetway, and have all jetways replaced at once. The scenery is Gatwick Extreme from UK2000.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lpt-K1nWy8g

And note that, of the 3:53 minutes the video lasts, 1:20 was lost restarting the sim for the initial creation of the exclude file so, it's really 2:30 of actual *work*.


Title: Re: Tutorial - Mass-replace jetways on a 3rd party airport in less than 4 minutes
Post by: Pilot148 on October 26, 2018, 01:43:47 PM
Hi,
Sound is missing on the Video

Regards


Title: Re: Tutorial - Mass-replace jetways on a 3rd party airport in less than 4 minutes
Post by: virtuali on October 26, 2018, 10:14:05 PM
Sound is missing on the Video

It's not supposed to have any sound.

It was made only to show that is possible to replace all jetways at once very quickly, which was required, since lots of users didn't seem to know you can do multiple selections at once. Don't think an audio would have added much to it.


Title: Re: Tutorial - Mass-replace jetways on a 3rd party airport in less than 4 minutes
Post by: Pilot148 on October 27, 2018, 01:41:34 PM
Ok, I understand.
Thanks!


Title: Re: Tutorial - Mass-replace jetways on a 3rd party airport in less than 4 minutes
Post by: dmatthieu2 on November 12, 2018, 03:19:40 AM
This is a pretty cool feature and thanks FSD for making GSX more intuitive. I do have 1 question. Running SODE 1.6.3 ...they designed SODE jetways to automatically dock onto AI aircraft at the gate. In my case, I've replaced all static jetways at VTBS with GSX Exp 2 jetways. And it's wonderful and looks great. However, the jetways only work for my aircraft and not the other AI aircraft. Is there a way to make these jetways auto-dock to the AI at the gates?


Title: Re: Tutorial - Mass-replace jetways on a 3rd party airport in less than 4 minutes
Post by: virtuali on November 12, 2018, 02:30:02 PM
Is there a way to make these jetways auto-dock to the AI at the gates?

We are working at this feature, which will require both a GSX and a SODE update.


Title: Re: Tutorial - Mass-replace jetways on a 3rd party airport in less than 4 minutes
Post by: Aang72 on November 13, 2018, 02:34:38 AM
Does this trick apply to your Chicago and Hawaii airports?  Both of them are without the SODE jetways, or did I miss something up in installing?


Title: Re: Tutorial - Mass-replace jetways on a 3rd party airport in less than 4 minutes
Post by: virtuali on November 13, 2018, 03:48:44 PM
We haven't done the Hawaii airports yet. The old O'Hare won't be updated, since we are working on an entirely new version.


Title: Re: Tutorial - Mass-replace jetways on a 3rd party airport in less than 4 minutes
Post by: Timothy Metzinger on November 20, 2018, 03:20:57 PM
Just want to say thank you for both the YouTube Tutorials, they really helped me figure out how to make changes at third party airports.   I took the lessons learned and had replaced all the gates at KMCI Terminal B in less than five minutes, and in less than an hour I'd gotten the SWA gates properly aligned and in the right livery, including adding a couple of bridges.

I know that 95% of what you'll see in support forums is problem reports and complaints (often driven to hyperbole by the frustration of the moment), so I think it's important to give positive feedback too.  This product is significantly enhancing my simulation experience and is getting better all the time.


Title: Re: Tutorial - Mass-replace jetways on a 3rd party airport in less than 4 minutes
Post by: villaloha on November 24, 2018, 04:37:09 AM
I watched your YouTube video about how to exclude default jetways. It won’t exclude at KMYR developed by Yhe Airport Guys. I went into their Scenery folder and looked for any “jetway” but there isn’t any. How can I remove default jetways?


Title: Re: Tutorial - Mass-replace jetways on a 3rd party airport in less than 4 minutes
Post by: virtuali on November 26, 2018, 01:36:44 AM
It won’t exclude at KMYR developed by Yhe Airport Guys. I went into their Scenery folder and looked for any “jetway” but there isn’t any. How can I remove default jetways?

As explained in the GSX manual, and in so many threads on this forum, in order for a jetway to be removable, it must be a proper animated CTRL+J jetway, modeled separately and included in the scenery AFCAD, which is the only way to create a default animated jetway.

If the scenery already has SODE jetways, they cannot excluded with this method and, instead, you must act on their XML SODE configuration file. I don't think replacing SODE jetways is worth the effort though.

If the scenery has static jetways, they can replaced with this method ONLY if they are been modeled as independent objects. If they are part of the terminal building, they cannot be excluded with an exclude file and, instead, you must really edit the scenery itself, which is fairly difficult, but CAN be one.


Title: Re: Tutorial - Mass-replace jetways on a 3rd party airport in less than 4 minutes
Post by: hjmx on March 24, 2019, 08:31:54 PM
What is the purpose of this "tutorial"? the first 15 seconds are blurred and then it so fast that I cannot follow it ... Is this a speed contest?


Title: Re: Tutorial - Mass-replace jetways on a 3rd party airport in less than 4 minutes
Post by: virtuali on March 26, 2019, 11:53:24 AM
What is the purpose of this "tutorial"? the first 15 seconds are blurred and then it so fast that I cannot follow it ... Is this a speed contest?

The video is very clear, and you can of course adjust the video playback speed on YouTube.


Title: Re: Tutorial - Mass-replace jetways on a 3rd party airport in less than 4 minutes
Post by: lwc.711022 on February 19, 2020, 07:36:25 AM
I can see nothing shown on my GSX customizing airport setting page, is there anything I can do?
This happen in all airport, no matter with or without custom profile have been set up before/installed


Title: Re: Tutorial - Mass-replace jetways on a 3rd party airport in less than 4 minutes
Post by: virtuali on February 19, 2020, 09:03:09 AM
I can see nothing shown on my GSX customizing airport setting page

Already discussed and answered here:

http://www.fsdreamteam.com/forum/index.php/topic,17211.0.html